Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Big Brothers & The Holding Company

Год издания : 2008/1996

Компания звукозаписи : Sony BMG

Музыкальный стиль : Album Rock, Blues-Rock, Acid Rock, Psychedelic/Garage, Hard Rock, Rock & Roll

Время звучания : 33:46

Код CD : CK 66425

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Pop (Woman Voice)      

Janis Joplin & Big Brothers

The debut, self-titled album from Big Brother & the Holding Company is an evolving paradigm, ten tracks initially issued on Mainstream Records, a label that would have success in 1968 with "Journey to the Center of the Mind" by Ted Nugent's Amboy Dukes. Unfortunately for Janis Joplin and Big Brother & the Holding Company, the respectable performances and all of the material on this disc are undercut by a weak production that sounds rushed. Recorded on December 12, 13, and 14 of 1966, it's quite telling that perhaps the best two songs from the sessions, Peter Albin's tribal-sounding "Coo Coo," and Janis Joplin's fiery "The Last Time," were only available on a 45 rpm and played as treats on FM radio "rare tape" nights. Those two songs have an intensity and drama missing from laid-back album cuts like "Easy Rider" and "Intruder." Big Brother's strength sans Janis was their ability to experiment and rely heavily on ideas to make up for their lack of musical prowess. Sad to say, there is little of that experimentation here. Even a potential science fiction Peter Albin composition, "Light Is Faster Than Sound," comes off like an audition tape instead of the hit it could have been had it the cosmic explosion of a "Journey to the Center of the Mind." The album does contain interesting studies of future classics, like Moondog's "All Is Loneliness" (the street poet eventually signing with Columbia himself), and Joplin's creative arrangement of "Down on Me," making it more of an entertaining textbook than a deep musical experience. It was the lack of product from superstar Janis Joplin which kept putting an emphasis on this release with little else available to satisfy rabid fans who couldn't get enough Janis. Columbia picked up the album and re-issued it in its original form, then reissued it again with "The Last Time" and "Coo Coo" added.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

James Gurley (Electric Guitar)
Peter Albin (Electric Bass)
Sam Andrew (Electric Guitar)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Bye Bye Baby     T       0:02:38 Powell St. John
   2 Easy Rider         0:02:25 James Gurley
   3 Intruder     T       0:02:30 Janis Joplin
   4 Light Is Faster Than Sound     T       0:02:32 Peter Albin
   5 Call On Me     T       0:02:35 Sam Andrew
   6 Women Is Losers     T       0:02:05 Janis Joplin
   7 Blindman         0:02:25 Peter Albin / Sam Andrew / David Getz / James Gurley / Janis Joplin
   8 Down On Me     T       0:02:07 Janis Joplin
   9 Caterpillar         0:02:20 Peter Albin
   10 All Is Loneliness     T       0:02:34 Louis Hardin
   11 Coo Coo (Single)         0:01:56 Bonus Tracks
   12 The Last Time (Single)         0:02:17 -"-
   13 Call On Me (Alternate Take)         0:02:42 -"-
   14 Bye, Bye Baby (Alternate Take)         0:02:40 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:14:15

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page