Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   The Next Level

Год издания : 2008

Компания звукозаписи : Trippin 'N' Rhythm

Музыкальный стиль : Contemporary Jazz

Время звучания : 53:46

Код CD : TNR26 (0 20286 11802 2)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Small Orchestra - Contemporary)      

It's an amusing little slice of the pop culture times that veteran bassist Sekou Bunch is better known to the American public as the first eliminated contestant from Survivor: Cook Islands (2006, the thirteenth season of the show) than for his incredible all-star re'sume' featuring everyone from Quincy Jones and Luther Vandross to Michael Jackson, Ray Charles, the Winans, and Stevie Wonder. His experience on the show probably made him impervious to the odds of a new name (this was his first solo effort since the early '90s) breaking through the smooth jazz format when this was released. The success of Wayman Tisdale aside, another obstacle was the fact that he's an ace bassist, not the most radio-friendly instrument in the genre. All that said, The Next Level is a solid, coolly funky, and supermelodic date, on par with and even surpassing the catchy and grooving joy that Tisdale was famous for. And you can't beat the big shots he invited to the party: Stanley Clarke (who adds a chops happy tenor bass solo to Bunch's lead piccolo on the breezy, laid-back "Sun Goddess"); Angela Winbush and Boney James, who sway along with Bunch on the romantic-lite urban jazz of "Smooth Sailing"; George Duke, who adds his elegant piano touch to the dramatic, orchestrally enhanced grooving jazz of "The Return of Superman"; and Sheila E. and Everette Harp blazing along with Bunch's Fender jazz bass and Thomas Organ's blistering guitar on a wild "Purple Haze." The progressive fusion of these last two tracks and the high spirited tropical Latin jam "Ploom Ploom Ploom" add a nice complement of depth and jazzy soul to the handful of radio friendly potential singles. Likewise, the socially conscious "Haters" rocks steady into forward-thinking "Marcus Miller" territory. But even when Bunch is just playing it cool, his heart's completely in it, dedicating "Everything I Miss at Home" to his old friend, the late George Howard and the silky "Essence" to Vandross. He was the first guy to be voted off the island, but this diverse disc made it clear he was finally dedicated to his solo career for the long haul.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Angela Winbush (Vocals)
Bobby Broom (Guitar)
Boney James (Tenor Saxophone)
Brooke Lynne Bunch (Vocals, Background Vocals)
Ellegua Vocal Choir (Vocals)
Everette Harp (Tenor Saxophone)
George Duke (Piano)
Jimi Macon (Guitar)
Johnny Britt (Trumpet)
Karen Briggs (Violin)
Kim Hansen (Synthesizer)
Lamont VanHook (Vocals)
Lori Andrews (Harp)
Mads Tolling (Violin)
Marina Bambino (Percussion)
Melena DeOlga (Shakers)
Munyungo Jackson (Bata)
Natisse Bambi Jones (Vocals)
Rayford Griffin (Drums)
Rodney Franklin (Fender Rhodes, Bass, Piano, Synthesizer)
Roman Johnson (Fender Rhodes, Flute, Keyboards, Organ, Piano, Synthesizer, Vibraphone)
Sean Patrick Thomas (Background Vocals)
Sheila Escovedo (Percussion)
Stanley Clarke (Tenor Saxophone)
Steve Alaniz (Flute, Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Saxophone)
Thomas Organ (Guitar)
Trevor Lawrence (Drums)
Wally Minko (Keyboards, Synthesizer)
Wayne Linsey (Piano)
Will Kennedy (Drums)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Sun Goddess         0:04:12 Ramsey Lewis
   2 Smooth Sailing         0:04:18 Angela Winbush
   3 Take Five / In Three         0:05:08 Dave Brubeck
   4 Don't Take Too Long         0:03:17 Sekou Bunch
   5 Everything I Miss At Home         0:04:09  
   6 Haters         0:04:53 Sekou Bunch
   7 Essence         0:06:08 -"-
   8 Ploom Ploom Ploom         0:05:15 -"-
   9 Funkabilly         0:05:25 -"-
   10 The Return Of Superman         0:06:31 -"-
   11 Purple Haze     T       0:04:31 Jimi Hendrix


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:13:55

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page