Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Smith, Johnny  (Guitar)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   The Sound Of The Johnny Smith Guitar

Год издания : 1961/2001

Компания звукозаписи : Roulette

Музыкальный стиль : Cool, Guitar Jazz

Время звучания : 1:09:42

Код CD : 7243 5 31792 2 9

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Guitar - Smooth)      

Recorded in New York City in 1960 & 1961.

Remixed from the original three-track masters and remastered in 24-bit at the Malcolm Addey Studio, New York City.

#1-9 originally issued as "The Sound Of The Johnny Smith Guitar" (Roost SR-2246).

#10-20 originally issued as "Johnny Smith Plus The Trio" (Roost SR-2243).

When cool-toned guitarist Johnny Smith left New York for Colorado in the mid-'50s, he didn't hang up his guitar. He continued to play locally and make occasional trips back to the Big Apple to record. The two sessions included on The Sound of the Johnny Smith Guitar were the results of two trips in 1960 and 1961. Just about everything goes right on these sessions. Smith's guitar especially shines in the company of pianist Hank Jones, bassist George Duvivier, and drummer Ed Shaughnessy in the second set. There's a lovely, soulful version of "'Round Midnight," with a nice long solo by Smith (he even bends a blue note or two) and a shorter, though poignant one, by Jones. The band goes into overdrive for "This Can't Be Love," filling it with bouncy rhythm and sharp lead work. Pianist Bob Pancoast, bassist George Roumanis, and drummer Mousey Alexander join Smith on the 1960 session, originally issued as Johnny Smith Plus the Trio. As with the 1961 set, solid instrumental choices like "Some of These Days" and "Hippo the Sentimental Hippy" brighten up the proceedings. The band also bravely tackles Bud Powell's "Un Poco Loco," kicking it off with an extended, fiery drum workout by Alexander. In fact, the band doesn't join in until the last minute of the piece. Whether one considers the choice selections, good accompaniment, or wonderful guitar work by Smith, The Sound of the Johnny Smith Guitar is a lovely album and a good introduction to a fine guitarist.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Bob Pancoast (Piano)
Ed Shaughnessy (Drums)
George Duvivier (Bass)
George Roumanis (Bass)
Hank Jones (Piano)
Mousie Alexander (Drums)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Come Rain Or Come Shine     T       0:04:45 Harold Arlen / Johnny Mercer
   2 Gypsy In My Soul         0:03:20 Clay Boland / Moe Jaffe
   3 Embraceable You     T       0:04:55 George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin
   4 Misty     T       0:05:29 Johnny Burke / Erroll Garner
   5 As Long As There's Music         0:04:05 Sammy Cahn / Jule Styne
   6 'Round Midnight         0:04:28 Bernie Hanighen / Thelonious Monk / Cootie Williams
   7 This Can't Be Love         0:03:20 Lorenz Hart / Richard Rodgers
   8 Blues Chorale         0:03:57 John LaPorta
   9 Prelude         0:01:27 Johnny Smith
   10 I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)         0:02:43 Duke Ellington / Paul Francis Webster
   11 Let's Fall In Love     T       0:02:21 Harold Arlen / Ted Koehler
   12 I Can't Get Started     T       0:04:59 Vernon Duke / Ira Gershwin / Thad Jones
   13 Some Of These Days         0:02:29 Shelton Brooks
   14 You Took Advantage Of Me     T       0:02:12 Lorenz Hart / Richard Rodgers
   15 Over The Rainbow     T       0:02:30 Harold Arlen / E.Y. 'Yip' Harburg
   16 Out Of Nowhere         0:03:37 Johnny Green / Edward Heyman / Luciano Salvatore
   17 Prelude To A Kiss     T       0:03:33 Duke Ellington / Irving Gordon / Irving Mills
   18 Un Poco Loco         0:03:33 Bud Powell
   19 Hippo, The Sentimental Hippy         0:03:01 George Roumanis
   20 It's You Or No One         0:02:59 Sammy Cahn / Jule Styne


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:13:40

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page