Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Legends: Solo Guitar Performances

Год издания : 1994

Компания звукозаписи : Concord Jazz

Музыкальный стиль : Cool, Guitar Jazz

Время звучания : 1:02:15

Код CD : CCD-4616

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Guitar - Smooth)      

Despite the impression one could reasonably get from the cover of this reissue, these two guitar legends do not perform together, unfortunately. The next best thing are these solo sessions recorded almost 20 years apart. The first 12 items on the play list belong to Smith and capture his tasteful, clean sound coupled with complex chordal voices, which helped Smith in his adventures with playing classical compositions, including for the fabled Arturo Toscanini. Cuts that remind the listener of Smith's occasional classical foray include "Romance de los Pinos," "The Old Castle," and "Maid With the Flaxen Hair." But Smith was no slouch with constructing unique renditions of popular music. In 1952, teaming with Stan Getz, he made one of the best-selling jazz recordings of all times, "Moonlight in Vermont," which still sold well 50 years later. Van Eps was the master of the seven-string guitar, which allowed him to play his own basslines, well demonstrated on such cuts as "Tea for Two." The 11 pieces assigned to Van Eps reveal a predilection for highly rhythmic versions of well-known pop classics. Perhaps not as multi-faceted as Smith, he nonetheless had a fully developed style that approached the depth and complexity of Smith's. This can be heard on such cuts as "I Hadn't Anyone Till You" and "A Foggy Day." Besides which, he could and did swing. Although sideman on many a session, Van Eps left behind a relatively meager discography as a leader. These solo offerings are among his best. Although the styles of these two guitarists may go down different paths, their excellent technical skills, fully elevated imagination, and sensitivity to what they play clearly establish them among the elite of guitar players, true legends indeed.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Соисполнители не найдены

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 I'm Old Fashioned     T       0:02:24 Jerome Kern / Johnny Mercer
   2 Macho's Lullaby         0:02:09 Johnny Smith
   3 'Round Midnight         0:02:49 Bernie Hanighen / Thelonious Monk / Cootie Williams
   4 Wally's Waltz         0:01:32 Johnny Smith
   5 Black, Black, Black         0:02:28 Traditional
   6 Golden Earrings         0:03:02 Ray Evans / Jay Livingston / Victor Young
   7 Romance De Los Pinos         0:01:37 Federico Moreno Torroba
   8 Nortena         0:03:01 Jorge Gomez
   9 Maid With The Flaxen Hair         0:02:12 Claude Debussy / Public Domain
   10 Waltz         0:02:35 Public Domain / Manuel Ponce
   11 The Old Castle         0:03:58 Modest Mussorgsky / Traditional
   12 Sevilla         0:04:19 Pascual Albeniz / Isaac Albe'niz / Public Domain
   13 Cheek To Cheek     T       0:02:21 Irving Berlin
   14 A Foggy Day     T       0:04:16 George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin
   15 Tangerine     T       0:01:12 Johnny Mercer / Victor Schertzinger
   16 Sunny         0:02:19 Bobby Hebb / Jerome Kern
   17 Why Was I Born?     T       0:01:23 Oscar Hammerstein II / Jerome Kern
   18 I Didn't Know What Time It Was     T       0:02:36 Lorenz Hart / Richard Rodgers
   19 Tea For Two     T       0:05:22 Irving Caesar / Vincent Youmans
   20 The Man I Love     T       0:04:32 George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin
   21 For You     T       0:01:42 Joe Burke / Al Dubin
   22 I Hadn't Anyone Till You     T       0:02:04 Ray Noble
   23 I Could Write A Book         0:02:22 Lorenz Hart / J.J. Johnson / Richard Rodgers


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:13:40

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page