Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   You've Got It Bad Girl

Год издания : 2009/1973

Компания звукозаписи : Verve

Музыкальный стиль : Contemporary Jazz, Instrumental Pop, Crossover Jazz, Post-Bop, Soul

Время звучания : 43:04

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Small Orchestra - Contemporary)      

Recorded at A&M Records, Hollywood, Sun West Studios, Hollywood, The Record Plant, Hollywood, The Burbank Studios, A&R Studios, New York.

Quincy Jones followed up Smackwater Jack and his supervision of Donny Hathaway's Come Back Charleston Blue soundtrack with this, a mixed bag that saw him inching a little closer toward the R&B-dominated approach that reached full stride on the following Body Heat and peaked commercially with The Dude. That said, the album's most notorious cut is "The Streetbeater" - better known as the Sanford & Son theme, a novelty for most but also one of the greasiest, grimiest instrumental fusions of jazz and funk ever laid down - while its second most noteworthy component is a drastic recasting of "Summer in the City," as heard in the Pharcyde's "Passin' Me By," where the frantic, bug-eyed energy of the Lovin' Spoonful original is turned into a magnetically lazy drift driven by Eddie Louis' organ, Dave Grusin's electric piano, and Valerie Simpson's voice. (Simpson gives the song a "Summertime"-like treatment.) Between that, the title song (a faithfully mellow version, with Jones' limited but subdued vocal lead), a medley of Aretha Franklin's "Daydreaming" and Ewan MacColl's "First Time Ever I Saw Your Face," and a light instrumental, roughly half the album is mood music, and it's offset with not just "The Streetbeater" but a large-scale take on "Manteca," a spooky-then-overstuffed "Superstition" (where the uncredited Billy Preston, Bill Withers, and Stevie Wonder are billed as "three beautiful brothers"), and the "Streetbeater" companion "Chump Change" (co-written with Bill Cosby). The best here can be had on comps, but the album is by no means disposable.

Given a straight reissue in early 2009 via Verve's Originals series.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Bob James (Keyboards)
Bobbye Porter (Percussion)
Carol Kaye (Bass)
Cat Anderson (Trumpet)
Chuck Rainey (Bass)
Dave Grusin (Keyboards, Piano)
Dennis Budimir (Guitar)
Eddie Louis (Organ)
Ernie Watts (Saxophone)
George Duke (Piano)
Grady Tate (Drums)
Hubert Laws (Flute)
Milt Holland (Percussion)
Phil Woods (Alt Saxophone)
Quincy Duke (Vocals)
Ray Brown (Bass)
Tom Junior Morgan (Harmonica)
Toots Thielemans (Guitar, Harmonica)
Valerie Simpson (Vocals)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Summer In The City     T       0:04:07 Boone, Sebastian, Sebastian
   2 Eyes Of Love         0:03:31 Jones, Russell
   3 Tribute To A.F.: Daydreaming / First Time Ever I Saw Your Face         0:07:15 Franklin, MacColl
   4 Love Theme From The Getaway         0:02:38 Jones
   5 You've Got It Bad Girl     T       0:05:49 Wonder, Wright
   6 Superstition     T       0:04:32 Wonder
   7 Manteca         0:08:42 Fuller, Gillespie, Pozo
   8 Sanford & Son Theme (The Streetbeater)         0:03:08 Jones
   9 Chump Change         0:03:22 Cosby, Jones


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:13:01

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page