Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   In The Moment

Год издания : 2006

Компания звукозаписи : Shanachie

Музыкальный стиль : Crossover Jazz, Smooth Jazz

Время звучания : 47:27

Код CD : SH 5140

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Small Orchestra - Smooth)      

On this 2006 date (his debut for the Shanachie imprint), Everette Harp not only blows his saxophone (alto, soprano, and tenor), but he does much of the drum and keyboard programming, he produced it, and he composed six of the set's ten tracks. He also enlisted a stellar cast of likeminded performers to assist him: George Duke, Michael White (the drummer), Jonathan Butler, and David Mann, just to name a few. While there are some notable cuts by Chuck Loeb (whose two contributions bookend the set), Harp's tunes - settling around the middle of the disc - are the defining ones. The midtempo ballad "In the Moment" features his reedy soprano singing above the rhythm tracks and a killer little piano run by Duke; the sentimental "L.V. Shuffle" has the soul groove down, with Harp digging like Wilton Felder into a phrase and repeating it for effect; and the midtempo funk number "Holla" is rooted in bluesy feeling and a muscular attack. Harp has taken from his mentor, David Sanborn, the ability to distill and sustain a tune's emotional content to its core. He understands that "chops" are not necessarily about moving all over the horn, but in finding the right place in a tune and bringing that to the listener full-bore. He may no longer have the attention of a label like Blue Note, but he is making some of the best music of his career thus far.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

A. Ray Fuller (Rhythm Guitar)
Alex Al (Bass)
Barry J. Eastmond (Drums)
Carmen Cuesta (Background Vocals)
Dan Fornero (Flugelhorn, Trumpet)
George Duke (Piano)
Jonathan Butler (Guitar)
Larry Kimpel (Bass)
Lenny Castro (Percussion)
Lizzy Loeb (Background Vocals)
Mark Hollingsworth (Baritone Saxophone)
Michael White (Drums)
Michito Sanchez (Percussion)
Nick Lane (Trombone)
Paul Jackson Jr. (Rhythm Guitar)
Rex Rideout (Fender Rhodes, Keyboards)
Tim Carmen (Organ)
Will Kennedy (Drums)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Monday Speaks         0:04:51 Loeb
   2 Holla         0:03:51 Harp, Rideout
   3 Back To Basics         0:04:58 Mann
   4 Just As You Are         0:04:32 Harp, Rideout
   5 In The Moment         0:04:30 -"-
   6 Another Bedtime Story         0:04:10 -"-
   7 No Bout A Doubt It!         0:05:01 -"-
   8 L.V. Shuffle         0:04:54 -"-
   9 Night Calls     T       0:05:27 Eastmond, Harp
   10 Happy Accidental         0:05:13 Loeb


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:12:50

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page