Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :

Год издания : 2010

Компания звукозаписи : Rat, (wb)

Музыкальный стиль : Avant-Garde

Время звучания : 52:19

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Free - Avant-Garde)      

Recorded on the 13th of May 2010 in Dada studios.

Mixed and Mastered in studio Fiasco August 2010.

A collaboration between Off & Rat Records

Pianist/composer Giovanni Di Domenico formed this trio because of the extremely special quality of the sound he wanted to achieve within a musical group, and the choice of the musicians involved in it is extremely related to that special quality.

Clinamen, in ancient roman philosopher Lucretius's 'De Rerum Natura', is the magic force that makes an atom to change direction during it's fall and thus be able to hit other atoms and 'create' Energy and Life.It's not a law, it happens by 'chance'…

This new exploratory musical unit takes inspiration from Lucretius's theory to create melodies and sound scapes, to play with the inner and most special matter of the "sound" of each and all of the 3 members. Di Domenico's open compositions will be integrated by Henriksen's and Yamamoto's extreme transparent approach to their instrument, making them breath and have an extra special quality.

Giovanni Di Domenico :

Giovanni Di Domenico was born in Rome and since his birth has been

traveling and playing music.

This brought him to perform all over the world in very different contextes

and musical genres, from modern jazz to free improvisation and

experimental pop, collaborating with very many different musicians. Among

them are: Arve Henriksen, Akira Sakata, Jim O'Rourke, Fred Lomberg-

Holm, Tatsuya Nakamura, Tatsuhisa Yamamoto, Alexandra Grimal, Joao

Lobo, Toshimaru Nakamura.....just to name few.

He has released many albums under his name and in collaborations with


His travels and music are not going to stop.....

Arve Henriksen :

Born in 1968 in Norway, he has since worked and played with all kind of musicians all over the world, from the typical Jazz scene and sound of ECM to synth pop of David Sylvian to rock band like Motorpsycho. He is most well know for his solo and Supersilent albums on Rune Grammofon.

Tatsuhisa Yamamoto:

Born on Oct 25, 1982, in Yamaguchi, Japan. Tatsuhisa is a pure acoustic drummer who plays primarily improvised music.

He has also collaborated with artists such as Otomo Yoshihide, Jim O'Rourke, Sachiko M, Seiichi Yamamoto (ex Boredoms), Keiji Haino, Makoto Kawabata(AcidMotherTemple)…

Recently he has been performing regularly with Jim O'Rourke, who started to play music again after seeing Tatsuhisa playing live.


Assembled and led by Italian-born pianist and keyboard player Giovanni Di Domenico, and counting trumpeter extraordinaire Arve Henriksen and drummer and percussionist Tatsuhisa Yamamoto, this is a trio with a very uncompromising experimental outlook. The wealth of experience brought under this project is staggering. Perhaps the best known of the three, Henriksen needs no introduction, his solo work and his involvement, past and present, with Supersilent, Christian Wallumrod's various formations, Food or the Trygve Seim Ensemble have contributed to make him one of the most prominent musicians of the contemporary Scandinavian jazz scene. Almost ten years his junior, Di Domenico is also an well established instrumentalist with an impressive number of collaborations under his belt, while Yamamoto regularly performs with Jim O'Rourke and has, in the past, worked with members of AcidMotherTemple and Boredoms amongst others.

The album take its name from a concept defined by roman poet and philosopher Lucretius relating to the unpredictable swerve atoms make when falling down and the resulting collisions with other atoms to create energy. The part of the idea which relates particularly to the record is the chance factor which determines these swerves and collisions. Chance indeed seems to play an important role here as the trio size each other, evaluate their position within the formation, and react to each other's input.

While it is not specified in which order these compositions were developed and recorded, there appear to be an increased level of fluidity as the album progresses. In its early stages, the music is extremely fragmented and angular. Di Domenico's keyboards and electronics are regularly punctured by Yamamoto's drumming, sparse and abstract at first (Hyrje, Aide), growing meatier and more complex on pieces such as Mask That Eats Water and Idiot Glee or more intricate and textured on Nakizumi or Fanno Il Deserto E Lo Chiamano. Di Domenico, armed with piano, Fender Rhodes and synths, deploys a panoply of rhythmic motifs often baring heavy traces of abstraction (Aide, Idiot Glee), austere segments (Hyrje, Silence, Mask) and beautiful airy touches (Clinamen), tempered with electronics, which are scattered throughout, often in discreet touches, all serving the main tonal direction which the other two follow and build upon.

Henriksen is first noted here for the characteristic vocal abstractions he has developed, on Hyrje and later on Vatos and Clinamen, before his trumpet does the talking for him, from the incredibly gossamer textures he devises on Silence Is Twice As Fast Backward to the more clearly defined phrases on Aether Talk (For Joao) or Fanno.

Clinamen is a record which requires quite a level of involvement from the listener to begin reveal its many facets. At times arid and seemingly impenetrable, it tests the patience, but persistence is the key and the reward is well worth the effort, as when it eventually opens up, it is to reveal a fascinating universe where there aren't any straight line and nothing that works really should.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Giovanni Di Domenico (Composer, Fender Rhodes, Piano, Synthesizer)
Tatsuhisa Yamamoto (Drums, Percussion)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Hyrje         0:05:29 Domenico, Henriksen, Yamamoto
   2 Aide         0:04:48 -"-
   3 Silence Is Twice As Fast Backwards         0:06:29 -"-
   4 Nakizuni         0:00:57 -"-
   5 Mask That Eats Water         0:05:47 -"-
   6 Vatos         0:08:36 Domenico
   7 Idiot Glee         0:06:57 Domenico, Henriksen, Yamamoto
   8 Aether Talk (For Joao)         0:03:13 -"-
   9 Fanno Il Deserto e Lo Chiamano Pace         0:05:43 Domenico
   10 Clinamen         0:04:21 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:12:22

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page