Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Ivory Dreams

Год издания : 1989

Компания звукозаписи : Atlantic

Музыкальный стиль : Crossover Jazz, Soul Jazz, Piano Jazz

Время звучания : 44:41

Код CD : 7 81938-2 (0 7567 81938 2 8)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Small Orchestra)      

The title says it all - this is an absolutely dreamlike collection of tunes, both funky and straight ahead, written and performed by a masterful ivory tickler. After an illustrious career as mostly a sideman and/or musical director for R&B biggies like Anita Baker and Al Jarreau, this release established Lyle as a solo star, and rightfully so. Lyle's R&B background is more than apparent on the best of these eight cuts like Baker's "Been So Long," the funky "Loco-motion," and the airplay winner "Tropical." But you can also tell that he is a jazzman at heart. The title cut is as elegantly traditional as his lovely acoustic cover of Duke Ellington's "Lush Life," and he pretty much is at a pop/jazz impasse on the spunky "Nova." He sprinkles even the rockers with a grand command of the octaves, and many memorable improvisational interludes. Often this mix of old and new is detrimental for continuity, but Lyle carries it off quite well. Lyle has gathered the best talent he knows to help bring his dreams to life. Particularly solid are Gerald Albright (on bass rather than his usual sax), Paul Jackson, Jr. on guitar, and Kirk Whalum who adds some cooking hornwork to "Tropical."

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Abraham Laboriel Sr. (Bass)
David Swanson (Synthesizer)
Diane Louie (Synthesizer)
Donald Griffin (Guitar)
Donnell Spencer (Drums)
Gerald Albright (Bass)
Helena Springs (Vocals)
Julia Tillman Waters (Vocals)
Julia Waters (Vocals)
Kevin Brandon (Bass)
Kirk Whalum (Saxophone)
Land Richards (Drums)
Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler (Drums)
Maxine Willard Waters (Vocals)
Michael 'Patches' Stewart (Trumpet)
Mike Baker (Drums)
Mike Smith (Percussion)
Munyungo Jackson (Percussion)
Nathan East (Bass)
Oren Waters (Vocals)
Paul Jackson Jr. (Guitar)
Paulinho Da Costa (Percussion)
Ray Brown (Trumpet)
Reggie C. Young (Trombone)
Ricky Lawson (Drums)
Sam Sims (Bass)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Ivory Dreams         0:06:41 Lyle
   2 Save It For A Rainy Day         0:04:37 Guth, Oliver
   3 Been So Long     T       0:05:31 Baker
   4 The Loco-Motion         0:05:22 Lyle
   5 Tropical         0:05:45 -"-
   6 Lush Life     T       0:03:29 Strayhorn
   7 88 Ways (To Say I Love You)         0:06:57 Lyle
   8 Nova         0:03:53 -"-
   9 The Jam (CD Only)         0:02:26 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:11:58

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page