Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Jazz In Pars: Sammy Price And Doc Cheatham Play George Gershwin (1956-1958)

Год издания : 2002

Компания звукозаписи : EmArcy Universal Music France

Время звучания : 1:06:32

Код CD : Emarcy 013 038-2

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Piano)      

Recorded April 9, 1956 (1-16) and October 1958 (17-24) in Paris

## 01-16 - Piano solo

## 17-24 - With Doc Cheatham

This compilation in Verve's Jazz in Paris reissue series contains two separate sessions led by Sammy Price. The first, from 1956, features 14 piano solos by Price, exploring standards, classic jazz compositions, and some originals as well, so the title of this reissue is a bit misleading. The influence of Fats Waller, Earl Hines, and Teddy Wilson is evident in several of the selections, though Price is clearly his own man. The miniature performances of "Ain't Misbehavin'" and "Rosetta" are joyous, while the loping midtempo arrangement of "Willow Weep for Me" is both elegant and entertaining. His compositions are hardly throwaway filler material, especially the fascinating "Tata's Blues." Two years later, Price was touring Europe while leading a band, but brought only one member into the studio, trumpeter Doc Cheatham. The eight-song set from this session focuses exclusively on George Gershwin's songbook, though Cheatham sits out three numbers. Although "Oh, Lady Be Good" and "Summertime" are laudable, it is their inspired condensed arrangement of "Rhapsody in Blue" (which is barely over three minutes) that proves to be the highlight of their duo session. Since Price and Cheatham were active professionally for six and seven decades respectively, this disc catches each of them roughly in the middle of their careers. While Cheatham was probably more widely known at the end of his long life, the music by both men within this CD is well worth acquiring.

- Ken Dryden (All Music Guide)


Item is brand new and sealed. Will ship via USPS First Class Mail w/ tracking number within 2 - 3 business days to USA Customers. Will ship USPS First Class International Mail to customers outside of America. International customers will not have a tracking number. Please allow 3-7 business days for delivery to customers in America and 2-3 weeks for delivery to customers outside of America.

  Соисполнители :

Соисполнители не найдены

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 I Can't Give You Anything But Love     T       0:01:45 Fields, McHugh
   2 Can't Help Lovin' That Man         0:03:20 Hammerstein, Kern
   3 Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now         0:01:07 Waller
   4 Rosetta         0:01:43 Hines, Wood
   5 Someone To Watch Over Me     T       0:03:04 Gershwin, Gershwin
   6 Baby Wan't You Please Come Home?         0:02:21 Warfield, Williams
   7 Blues In My Heart     T       0:03:08 Carter, Mills
   8 Saint-Louis Blues         0:03:15 Handy
   9 Tata's Blues         0:04:16 Price
   10 Tea For Two     T       0:02:17 Caesar, Youmans
   11 Cinema's Boogie         0:02:16 Price
   12 Willow Weep For Me     T       0:02:24 Ronell
   13 Pinetop's Boogie Woogie         0:02:49 Smith
   14 Valetta         0:02:40 Price
   15 On The Sunny Side On The Street         0:02:33 Fields, McHugh
   16 Adieu         0:00:42 Price
   17 Lady Be Good         0:03:18 Gershwin, Gershwin
   18 The Man I Love     T       0:03:18 Gershwin
   19 I Got Rhythm     T       0:03:13 -"-
   20 Summertime     T       0:02:55 Gershwin, Gershwin, Heyward
   21 Somebody Loves Me     T       0:02:47 Gershwin
   22 Embraceable You     T       0:04:47 Gershwin, Gershwin
   23 'S Wonderful     T       0:03:23 -"-
   24 Rhapsody In Blue         0:03:10 Gershwin


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:11:55

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page