Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Icebreaker  (Ensemble)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Terminal Velocity

Год издания : 1994

Компания звукозаписи : London, Decca Argo, (wb)

Музыкальный стиль : Experimental, Minimalism, Modern Composition

Время звучания : 1:15:02

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : New Age (Sound Experiment)      

Recorded at the Henry Wood Hall, London, 19-21 September 1993, using DECCA-modified Neumann M50, Neumann TLM 170, Schoeps MK4 and Neumann KM84 microphones and Yamaha SY77, Korg M3R, Emu Systems Proteus 1 and 2, Roland S770 and S750 keyboards. Remixed digitally on the Neve Capricorn, Penthouse Studio, at Abbey Road, 10-12 November 1993, and at the Decca Recording Centre, 15-16 November 1993, monitored on B & W Loudspeakers.

Icebreaker's Terminal Velocity, the ensemble's opening salvo originally released by Argo/Decca in 1994, reveals a 15-member group steeped in the language of minimalism but already pushing past the typical parameters of the style. The proceedings begin with the densely packed layered repetitions of Michael Gordon's "Yo Shakespeare." James Poke's arrangement of Louis Andriessen's "De Snelheid" shows how a great composer can find new and compelling directions in pattern music; the sense of relentless acceleration, driven by clip-clopping percussion and hocketing across the stereo sound field, can lead into realms of aural trickery if you allow it. Three instrumental groupings ultimately converge in a dramatic and even ponderous climax, yet despite its rising tension, the music leading to this denouement possesses an engaging spaciousness that draws the listener in rather than overwhelming the senses. It somehow seems a logical progression from Gordon through Andriessen and into Gavin Bryars' "The Archangel Trip," a moody and evocative melding of minimalism with a European chamber folk sensibility - soundtrack music for the art house crowd. With long melodic soprano sax lines over shifting chords and a subdued pulse, "Archangel" is somber, lovely, and understated without fully abandoning the compositional rigor one would expect on this disc, and yet in its cloudy pastoralism somehow stands apart from nearly everything else Icebreaker have recorded. Arguably pointing the way toward the group's future is keyboardist Damian Le Gassick's eight-minute "Evol," an abrupt wake-up call after Bryars' dreaminess. Here forward momentum is interrupted by unison scalar runs, sax and tuned percussion interludes, and even fusion-tinged synth solos. Episodic music of this nature would come to dominate later releases like Extraction on Between the Lines and Cranial Pavement on Canteloupe. Terminal Velocity ends with 23 and a half minutes of mutating gradualism in the form of David Lang's "Slow Movement," a piece that actually engendered a tiny smattering of audible hostility from a lunkheaded segment of the July 2005 Lincoln Center Festival audience, who must have been ready for revisionist jazz in the Allen Room venue overlooking Columbus Circle. What they got, and what you get here, is a richly textured dronescape that evolves through cycles of harmonic variance before finally reaching resolution, and is filled with the type of sonic detail - particularly from the strings - that rewards the patient and attentive listener. Ambient music for watching cement harden, perhaps, "Slow Movement" finishes the journey from Terminal Velocity

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Audrey Riley (Cello)
Catherine Shrubshall (Alt Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone)
Damian Le Gassick (Composer)
Damian leGassick (Keyboards)
David Lang (Composer)
Gavin Bryars (Composer)
James Poke (Flute, Piccolo)
James Woodrow (Electric Guitar)
Joanna Parker (Keyboards, Violin)
Katherine Pendry (Flute, Piccolo)
Louis Andriessen (Composer)
Michael Gordon (Composer)
Pete Wilson (Bass Guitar)
Richard Craig (Clarinet, Alt Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone)
Tom Armstrong (Keyboards)
Tracey Goldsmith (Accordion)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Yo Shakespeare         0:10:47 Michael Gordon
   2 De Snelheid         0:16:30 Louis Andriessen
   3 The Archangel Trip         0:15:58 Gavin Bryars
   4 Evol         0:08:07 Damian Le Gassick
   5 Slow Movement         0:23:40 David Lang


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:11:36

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page