Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   The Sequel

Год издания : 2002

Компания звукозаписи : Disk Union

Музыкальный стиль : Hard Bop, Post-Bop, Piano Jazz

Время звучания : 1:06:09

Код CD : MXJ 204 (6 10614 02042 6)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Piano - Bop)      

Recording Date: 2002-06-05,06

The Sequel has a threefold meaning for pianist Mulgrew Miller and his listeners. First, it reunites him with Wingspan, the reputable quintet he formed in 1987; second, it ends his self-imposed seven-year hiatus as a bandleader; and third, it is his debut for the Max Jazz recording label. This highly enjoyable recording features ten great jazz songs in their pure form on which members of the ensemble excel. Wingspan is comprised of Steve Nelson, Steve Wilson, Duane Eubanks, Richie Goods, and Karriem Riggins, all of whom have established themselves in the jazz idiom as remarkable leaders and sidemen in their own right. Mulgrew Miller wrote eight new songs including the opening composition, "Go East Young Man." This song features excellent soloing from Eubanks, Wilson, Nelson, and Miller, who unify their ideas at the coda with a strong display of harmonics and textures. "The Sequel" utilizes the swing beat and features impeccable piano playing by Miller as well as stellar trumpeting from Duane Eubanks. "Know Wonder" is a great blowing vehicle for Steve Wilson, who plays his soprano saxophone with an exotic Eastern flavor. Despite the fact that Miller stayed away from the limelight as a bandleader, his competency as a sideman on over 200 recordings during that seven-year hiatus obviously provided the solid springboard from which this masterful achievement evolved. Mulgrew Miller and Wingspan is a distinctive group from which jazz aficionados can expect to hear beautiful melodies interpreted with precise beats, excellent improvisation, and modern mainstream jazz in its pure forms and styles.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Duane Eubanks (Trumpet)
Karriem Riggins (Drums)
Richie Goods (Bass)
Steve Nelson (Vibraphone)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Go East Young Man         0:07:41 Miller
   2 The Sequel         0:08:05 -"-
   3 Elation         0:05:25 Herring, Miller
   4 Holding Hands         0:06:34 Miller
   5 Know Wonder         0:09:42 -"-
   6 Dreamsville         0:06:44 Evans, Livingston, Mancini
   7 Spectrum         0:02:36 Cobham, Miller
   8 It Never Entered My Mind     T       0:06:33 Hart, Rodgers
   9 Just A Notion         0:07:50 Miller
   10 Samba D'Blue         0:04:59 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:11:32

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page