Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Lee, Peggy  (Vocals)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Pass Me By. Big $pender

Год издания : 2001

Компания звукозаписи : EMI

Музыкальный стиль : Cast Recordings, Show Tunes, Torch Songs, Traditional Pop, Vocal Jazz, Vocal Pop

Время звучания : 51:27

Код CD : 7 24353 52102 8

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Woman Voice)      

This Capitol/EMI reissue collects a pair of Peggy Lee LPs from the mid-'60s: 1965's Pass Me By and the following year's Big $pender. Nobody would confuse these records with the best of Lee's career; the arrangements are slanted toward the burgeoning rock crossover, and her vocals constantly stray from sublime to slightly weak. Highlights are definitely there for the choosing, however, including the opener "Sneakin' Up on You" and "Quiet Nights" from Pass Me By, and "Let's Fall in Love" from the latter record.

## 1 -11 "Pass Me By" Capitol 1965

Capitol aimed songs from Pass Me By at several different markets, and the effect is a scattershot LP with several nuggets but no real cohesion. First up is the delightfully tossed-off popcorn tune "Sneakin' Up on You," but it's followed by the title track, a queasy strike-up-the-band march which surprisingly reached the charts. "Dear Heart" leans toward the countrypolitan sound (it would've fit much better as a vehicle for Charlie Rich), and the Beatles cover "A Hard Day's Night" wasn't a good match at all; Lee strains to hit the lower notes, and sounds tentative singing the lyrics. While her vocals are on the weak side from a technical standpoint, Lee's interpretive powers are mostly intact, and her flair on "Sneakin' Up on You" makes it a natural for one of those swinging novelties often heard on '60s compilations.

All Music Guide

## 12-22 "Big $pender" Capitol 1966

Blending a couple of then-current show tunes with older classics of the big band form, Peggy Lee's 1966 LP Big $pender occasionally rose its head above the level of kitsch - and much more so than 1965's Pass Me By. It's tough to blame Lee herself; while the arrangements (including work by Dave Grusin and Bill Holman) are mostly successful, again and again the accompaniment descends into rote repetition of the usual rock motifs. The blaring brass of the title track make it a highlight, though, and Lee sounds positively jubilant while singing a genuine standard ("Let's Fall in Love") over a conservative arrangement.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Bill Pitman (Guitar)
Bob Bain (Guitar)
Dennis Budimir (Guitar)
Joe Pisano (Guitar)
John Guerin (Drums)
Lou Levy (Piano)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Sneakin' Up On You         0:02:24 Daryll, Taylor
   2 Pass Me By (From Father Goose)         0:02:26 Coleman, Leigh
   3 I Wanna Be Around     T       0:02:30 Mercer, Vimmerstadt
   4 Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered         0:02:07 Hart, Rodgers
   5 My Love, Forgive Me (Amore, Scusami)         0:02:34 Lee, Mescoli, Pallavicini
   6 You Always Hurt The One You Love         0:01:47 Fisher, Roberts
   7 A Hard Day's Night     T       0:02:07 Lennon, McCartney
   8 Love     T       0:02:06 Gabler, Kaempfert
   9 Dear Heart         0:02:24 Evans, Livingston, Mancini
   10 Quiet Nights (Corcovado)         0:02:24 Jobim, Lees
   11 That's What It Takes         0:02:18 Coleman, Lee, Schluger
   12 Come Back To Me (From On A Clear Day You Can See Forever)         0:02:19 Lane, Lerner
   13 You've Got Possibilities (from The Broadway Production It's A Bird, It' (From The Broadway Production It's A Bird, It')         0:02:14 Adams, Strouse
   14 It's A Wonderful World         0:01:51 Adamson, Savitt, Watson
   15 I'll Only Miss Him When I Think Of Him (From The Broadway Musical ...)         0:02:52 Cahn, VanHeusen
   16 Big Spender (From The Broadway Show Sweet Charity)         0:02:08 Coleman, Fields
   17 I Must Know         0:02:30 Hefti, Mattis
   18 Alright, Okay, You Win         0:02:29 Watts, Wyche
   19 Watch What Happens (From The Umbrellas Of Cherbourg)         0:03:12 Gimbel, Legrand
   20 You Don't Know         0:02:55 Spriggs
   21 Let's Fall In Love     T       0:02:06 Arlen, Koehler
   22 Gotta Travel On         0:01:44 Clayton, Ehrlich, Lazar, Six


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:11:26

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page