Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Soul Dancers

Год издания : 2010

Компания звукозаписи : Plus Loin

Время звучания : 49:04

Код CD : 7 94881 95712 5

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Small Orchestra - Contemporary)      

Recording Date: Sep 27, 2009 - Sep 30, 2009

Over a few short years and a handful of albums, the Moutin Reunion Quartet have established themselves as one of the best working bands in jazz history. Their repertoire is dotted with memorable compositions played powerfully, while their virtuosity is present as ever on this project. Furthering the compositional skill of the extraordinary bassist Francois Moutin, six of these nine pieces are stamped with his playful, inventive, and deft melodic identity. Brother Louis Moutin, with his hunchback drumming style and limitless chops, is a spectacular rhythm machine, and should be heralded as the second coming of Elvin Jones. Tenor saxophonist Rick Margitza's mid-register, tart, sweet sound has really settled in with this ensemble, tossing aside any post-Michael Brecker comparisons, but staying in the neo-bop realm for ear grabbers like "Sold Answers" and the hard-charging mighty funk of "Momentum." Two of these tracks will probably be familiar to fans, as the hip, modal "Mr. N.R." is similar to the selection from the Moutin's album Something Like Now titled "Take It Easy," while the hard bopper "Clinton Parkview" is reprised via the bassist's contribution alongside saxophonist Ernie Watts and his 2007 CD Analog Man. Keyboardist Pierre DeBethmann - after some some solo projects - keeps widening his groove and depth of color field, adding subtle synthesizer or bluesy organ sounds on top of his clever acoustic piano and pungent Fender Rhodes. It seems this group just gets better and better, but in fact they're refining their approach, while continuing to make more exciting, original modern jazz music that is stunning and arresting on many visceral levels.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Francois Moutin (Bass)
Louis Moutin (Drums)
Pierre De Bethmann (Keyboards, Piano, Vocals)
Rick Margitza (Tenor Saxophone)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Sold Answers         0:06:51 Moutin
   2 Depths Light         0:06:50 Moutin, Moutin
   3 Momentum         0:05:37 Moutin
   4 Monk's Medley         0:04:08 Monk
   5 Mr N.R.         0:05:34 Moutin
   6 Blessed And Cursed         0:04:07 -"-
   7 Clinton Parkview         0:04:08 -"-
   8 Forgotten Feelings         0:04:53 -"-
   9 Quiet Force         0:06:56 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:11:11

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page