Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Afro Bop Alliance

Год издания : 2008

Компания звукозаписи : Heads Up

Музыкальный стиль : Latin Jazz, World Fusion

Время звучания : 1:00:45

Код CD : HUCD 3137 (0 53361 31372 2)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Small Orchestra - Contemporary)      

Recorded At - Bias Studios

Where once they were three - Dave Samuels on vibes, Paquito D'Rivera on saxophone, and Andy Narell on steel drums - Caribbean Jazz Project has morphed over the past decade-plus into a big band of close to 20 members, 13 of them horn players. Samuels, who contributes marimba as well as vibes, remains at the helm, and it's clearly his vehicle - he also wrote five of the nine tracks on this set. The band cooks, no question about it, and Samuels' Latin-leaning arrangements are smart and steamy. But new material is in short supply, and the album ultimately has a sense of deja vu about it. Nearly all of the material, including covers of Thelonious Monk's "Bemsha Swing," Oliver Nelson's "Stolen Moments," and John Coltrane's "Naima," has appeared on previous CJP recordings, and even if Samuels felt a burning need to return to these songs to recast them as big-band numbers, he might have tried reworking them while he was at it - outside of the sheer volume of players involved, there's simply not much going on here that adds a new dimension to the Caribbean Jazz Project story. That said, the quality of musicianship throughout the album is superb, and those unfamiliar with the previous releases will undoubtedly find it exhilarating. But those who've experienced the previous recordings and seek newness won't find it here.

- Jeff Tamarkin (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Andy Axelrad (Alt Saxophone)
Ben Patterson (Trombone)
Chano Pozo (Composer)
Chris Walter (Trumpet)
Dan Drew (Trombone)
Dave Samuels (Composer, Marimba, Vibraphone)
Denzil Best (Composer)
Dizzy Gillespie (Composer)
Greg Reese (Trumpet)
Harry Appelman (Piano)
Jim McFalls (Trombone)
Joe McCarthy (Bells, Drums, Percussion, Timbales, Shakers)
John Coltrane (Composer)
Luis Hernandez (Tenor Saxophone)
Mark Morgan (Trombone)
Maxx Murray (Bass, Bass Guitar)
Milton DeLugg (Composer)
Nick Cooper (Trumpet)
Pauline Rivelli (Composer)
Rob Holmes (Baritone Saxophone)
Robert Quintero (Percussion)
Robert Thiele (Composer)
Steve 'Syco Steve' Williams (Alt Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone)
Steve Williams (Alt Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone)
Thelonious Monk (Composer)
Tim Stanley (Trumpet)
Vince Norman (Tenor Saxophone)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Rendezvous         0:04:55 Samuels
   2 Naima         0:06:11 Coltrane
   3 Five For Elvin         0:08:45 Samuels
   4 Soul Sauce         0:05:20 DeLugg, Gillespie, Pozo, Rivelli…
   5 Picture Frame         0:06:30 Samuels
   6 Stolen Moments         0:08:35 Nelson
   7 Birds Of A Feather         0:04:55 Samuels
   8 Afro Green         0:07:42 -"-
   9 Bemsha Swing         0:07:51 Best, Monk


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:10:48

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page