Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Songs From The Analog Playground

Год издания : 2001

Компания звукозаписи : Blue Note, (wb)

Время звучания : 1:00:49

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Fusion)      

Charlie Hunter Quartet

Recording information: Water Music, Hoboken, NJ.

Charlie Hunter's seventh Blue Note release is the first to feature vocalists - Theryl De'Clouet, Kurt Elling, Norah Jones, and rapper Mos Def - who appear in rotating guest spots. Five of the 13 tracks are instrumental originals. Some meander in a typical jam band way, but they're guided by an economical, live-quartet sound and driven by Hunter's highly intriguing eight-string guitar work. The short solo guitar piece "Sunday Morning" is a tease, but also a gem. De'Clouet's gravelly, soulful voice fits nicely on Earth, Wind & Fire's "Mighty, Mighty" and the Willie Dixon blues classic "Spoonful"; his control of harmonic overtones on the latter is astounding. Labelmate Norah Jones lends her breezy, laid-back vibe to Roxy Music's "More Than This" and Nick Drake's "Day Is Done." Mos Def kibbitzes on the opening "Street Sounds" and turns in a respectable singing performance on the sultry, minor-key "Creole." Kurt Elling, also a labelmate, is impeccably smooth on a percussion/vocal interpretation of "Close Your Eyes," a standard that served as the title track of the singer's Blue Note release of 1995. Elling also sings and does spoken word on "Desert Way" (co-written with Hunter), helping to distinguish it as the most ambitious track on the disc. Hunter's fiercely eclectic tastes have been evident on previous releases, but the presence of the vocalists enables him to establish connections and tell stories he never has before.

-David R. Adler (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Chris Lovejoy (Conga, Drums)
John Ellis (Tenor Saxophone)
Kurt Elling (Vocals)
Norah Jones (Vocals)
Stephen Chopek (Drums, Tambourine)
Theryl DeClouet (Vocals)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Street Sounds (featuring Mos Def)         0:02:33  
   2 Rhythm Music Rides Again         0:05:59  
   3 Mighty Mighty (featuring Theryl De'Clouet)         0:03:50  
   4 Mitch Better Have My Bunny         0:06:12  
   5 More Than This (featuring Norah Jones)         0:04:11  
   6 Desert Way (featuring Kurt Elling)         0:06:02  
   7 Run For It         0:07:54  
   8 Spoonful (featuring Theryl De'Clouet)         0:05:07  
   9 Close Your Eyes (hueaturing Kurt Elling)         0:01:38  
   10 Percussion Shuffle         0:05:48  
   11 Creole (featuring Mos Def)         0:05:42  
   12 Sunday Morning         0:01:17  
   13 Day Is Done (featuring Norah Jones)         0:04:37  


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:10:35

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page