Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Britten, Lord Benjamin  (Composer, Conductor) , London Symphony Orchestra (Orchestra) , Peter Pears (Tenor Voice) , Barry Tuckwell (Horn
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Serenade. Les Illuminations. Nocturne

Год издания : 1993

Компания звукозаписи : London

Время звучания : 1:12:47

Код CD : 436 395-2

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Classics (Symphony)      

London Symphony Orchestra, English Chamber Orchestra

The Serenade and the Nocturne were both composed for Britten's lover, Peter Pears, although "Les Illuminations" was originally written for female voice. Since its premiere, however, it too has become a tenor standard, particularly since it rounds out CDs like this one, which feature the other song cycles as well. Pears was the archetypal English tenor. He had a thin, very agile voice, capable of a surprising volume of tone when necessary. He knew that he wasn't cut out for Italian opera, and when you're sleeping with one of the century's greatest composers, who cares? All of the music written for him was tailored to his special abilities, and he always made the most of the many opportunities that Britten offered to sound like the greatest singer in the world.

-David Hurwitz


Although Peter Pears and Benjamin Britten made an earlier recording of the Serenade with its original horn player, Dennis Brain, this one is sonically superior and, most important, musically more mature. In a word, it's absolutely radiant. The Serenade is among the greatest masterpieces in all of music. It stands as a monument to Britten's genius - there is no other piece anything like it - as well as to the creative inspiration provided by his relationship with Pears, and to Britten's unrelenting quest for personal expression through music. The disc's other works, also written for tenor and strings (the Nocturne adds seven obbligato instruments), feature Pears in his prime, musically insightful and vocally assured. We are fortunate to have such a shining example of one of the most fascinating and productive artistic collaborations of this or any other century.

-David Vernier

  Соисполнители :

Alexander Murrey (Flute)
English Chamber Orchestra (Orchestra)
Gervase De Peyer (Clarinet)
Osian Ellis (Harp)
Roger Lord (Horn)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 I. Prologue         0:01:25 Serenade For Tenor, Horn & Strings Op.31
   2 II. Pastoral         0:03:37 -"-
   3 III. Nocturne         0:03:23 -"-
   4 IV. Elegy         0:04:07 -"-
   5 V. Dirge         0:03:46 -"-
   6 VI. Hymn         0:02:04 -"-
   7 VII. Sonnet         0:04:10 -"-
   8 VIII. Epilogue         0:01:37 -"-
   9 I. Fanfare         0:01:51 Les Illuminations, Song Cycle For High Voice & Strings, Op. 18
   10 II. Villes         0:02:32 -"-
   11 III. Phrase         0:00:57 -"-
   12 IV. Antique         0:02:10 -"-
   13 V. Royaute         0:01:37 -"-
   14 VI. Marine         0:01:02 -"-
   15 VII. Interlude         0:02:22 -"-
   16 VIII. Being Beauteous         0:04:05 -"-
   17 IX. Parade         0:02:48 -"-
   18 X. Depart         0:02:46 -"-
   19 I. On A Poet's Lips I Slept         0:03:23 Nocturne, For Tenor, 7 Instruments & Strings, Op. 60
   20 II. Below The Thunders Of The Upper Deep         0:03:18 -"-
   21 III. Encinctured With A Twine Of Leaves         0:02:12 -"-
   22 IV. Midnight's Bell Goes Ting, Ting, Ting...         0:02:30 -"-
   23 V. But That Night When On My Bed I Lay         0:03:03 -"-
   24 VI. She Sleeps On Soft, Last Breaths         0:04:31 -"-
   25 VII. What Is More Gentle That A Wind In Summer?         0:03:28 -"-
   26 VIII. When Most I Wink, Then Do Mine Eyes Best See         0:04:01 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:10:06

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page