Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   O Solitude

Год издания : 2004

Компания звукозаписи : Naive, Astree

Время звучания : 59:06

Код CD : E 8882 (8 22186 08882)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Classics (Reconstruction)      

Il Seminario Musicale - Ensemble

Bruno Cocset (basse de violon)

Blandine Rannou (clavecin et orgue positif)

Pascal Monteilhet (theorbe)

Enregistre: octobre 2002, Chapelle de l'ecole Sainte Genevieve, Versailles


Henry Purcell arguably was Europe's greatest song composer before Schubert and certainly was the most prolific. Like Schubert, Purcell not only lived a relatively short life (barely 36 years) but in similar fashion, the scope of his subject matter embraced nearly every aspect of his often turbulent time. Purcell was a countertenor, and his music couldn't be better served than by countertenor extraordinaire Gerard Lesne, whose new recording offers a diverse selection of songs that amply attest to the composer's remarkable invention, versatility, and range.

Lesne's performance of the familiar title selection "O Solitude, my sweetest choice!" is outstanding as the singer delivers what must be the slowest, most heartfelt rendering ever. Lesne's performance of Purcell's equally celebrated "If music be the food of love" is knowingly animated, especially when compared to Drew Minter's tonally opaque treatment (Harmonia Mundi) and both of Nancy Argenta's less-expressive accounts (Virgin Classics), placing it firmly on par with my reference recording-tenor Howard Crook's deft, seamless performance on Deutsche Harmonia Mundi.

Lesne fittingly concludes the program with "An Evening Hymn (Now, now that the sun hath veil'd his light)", bidding the world adieu in one of Purcell's most sublime, stately marches. Here (and throughout) Blandine Rannou's subtle positif organ continuo perfectly complements Lesne's delivery. Il Seminario Musicale (founded by Lesne nearly 20 years ago) delivers stylish, expert performances, all faithfully captured in richly detailed sonics worthy of audiophile attention. This is one of the finest recitals of its kind and couldn't be more warmly recommended. [10/11/2003]

-John Greene, ClassicsToday.com

  Соисполнители :

Соисполнители не найдены

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 O Solitude, My Sweetest Choice!         0:06:05 Song, Z. 406
   2 If Music Be The Food Of Love         0:03:42 Song, Z. 379 (3 Settings)
   3 The Fatal Hour Comes On Apace         0:03:29 Song, Z. 421
   4 What A Sad Fate Is Mine         0:03:40 Song, Z. 428 (2 Versions)
   5 While Thirsis, Wrapp'd In Downy Sleep         0:01:51 Song, Z. 437
   6 Air Instrumental         0:01:06 The Indian Queen, Semi-opera, Z. 630
   7 Air Lent         0:01:39 Distressed Innocence, Or, The Princess Of Persia, Incidental Music, Z. 577
   8 I Attempt From Love's Sickness - Instrumental         0:01:26 The Indian Queen, Semi-opera, Z. 630
   9 Ask Me To Love No More         0:01:23 Farewell, All Joys, Song, Z. 368
   10 Beneath A Dark And Melancholy Grove         0:03:27 Song, Z. 461
   11 If Pray'rs And Tears         0:07:02 Song, Z. 380
   12 Incassum Lesbia, Incassum Rogas (The Queen Epicedium)         0:07:22 Song, Z. 383
   13 In Cloris All Soft Charm Agree         0:02:15 Song, Z. 384
   14 A Thousand Sev'ral Ways I Tried To Hide         0:00:40 Z. 459
   15 Intermede Instrumental         0:00:41 Manuscript, British Library
   16 Bacchus Is A Pow'r Divine         0:03:04 Song, Z. 360
   17 Intermedes Instrumentaux         0:00:54 Manuscript, British Library
   18 Intermedes Instrumentaux         0:00:43 -"-
   19 Young Thirsis' Fateye Hills And Groves Deplore (On The Death Of Thomas Farmer)         0:05:10 Song For Soprano, Bass & Continuo, Z. 473
   20 An Evening Hymn (Now, Now That The Sun Hath Veil'd His Light)         0:03:28 Sacred Song For Soprano & Continuo Z. 193


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:09:56

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page