Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Dunn, Trevor  (Bass)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Sister Phantom Owl Fish

Год издания : 2004

Компания звукозаписи : Ipecac

Музыкальный стиль : Experimental Rock, Avant-Garde Jazz, Free Jazz, Post-Rock/ Experimental

Время звучания : 56:01

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Rock (Alternative)      

Trevor Dunn's Trio-Convulsant

Recorded February 18, 19 & 20 & mixed March 3 & 4, 2004 at Systems Two, Brooklyn.

Mastered at the Hit Factory, NYC.

Trevor Dunn's Trio-Convulsant is back for their second album, although with a completely different lineup (besides Dunn, of course). Adam Levy and Kenny Wollesen are gone, replaced by Mary Halvorson on guitar and Ches Smith on drums. The music they play is not so much a fusion of styles as it is a collision of styles. Almost straight-ahead jazz noodling gives way to hardcore blasts and crunching power chords, then completely devolves into Derek Bailey territory, but the band is always together. You can tell that some of it is quite composed, and that other sections are most likely entirely improvised. Dunn plays acoustic bass throughout ("Me Susurra un Secreto" is actually a bass solo), while Halvorson is all over the map sonically, switching between clean and distorted tones, chords, single-string runs, and extended techniques. She also judiciously uses some kind of delay or pitch-bending device to wonderful effect. The tunes are challenging but aren't difficult to listen to, and their cover of Duke Ellington's "The Single Petal of a Rose" (with guest harpist Shelley Burgon) is actually quite pretty. If you've been following Trevor Dunn's widely varied career as a player, you know he's got a sense of adventure, and Sister Phantom Owl Fish will not disappoint.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Ches Smith (Drums)
Mary Halvorson (Guitar)
Shelley Burgon (Harp)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Liver-Colored Dew         0:06:00 Dunn
   2 The Empty Glass Has A Name         0:04:42 -"-
   3 Specter Of Serling         0:06:12 -"-
   4 Me Susurra Un Secreto         0:01:46 -"-
   5 Dawn's Early Vengance         0:05:42 -"-
   6 The Single Petal Of A Rose         0:06:33 Ellington, Strayhorn
   7 The Salamander         0:06:09 Dunn
   8 She Ossifies         0:08:25 -"-
   9 Styrofoam & Grief         0:06:41 -"-
   10 I'm Sick         0:02:50 Previn
   11 Untitled         0:01:01 Dunn


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:09:52

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page