Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Golijov: Ayre. Berio: Folksongs

Год издания : 2005

Компания звукозаписи : Deutsche Grammophon

Время звучания : 1:02:00

Код CD : DGG B0004782-02 (028947754145)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Classics (Modern Classics)      

Dawn Upshaw & The Andalusian Dogs

OSVALDO GOLIJOV: Ayre; BERIO: Folk Songs for Voice and Seven Instruments - Dawn Upshaw, soprano/ The Andalusian Dogs (Ayre)/Instr. Sextet (Folk)

Nominated for a Grammy, this unusual vocal album pairs Berio's well-known 1964 setting of 11 folk songs with the world premiere of a rather similar companion piece also setting 11 folk songs.Golijov is an Argentine-born contemporary composer who takes listeners on a trip around the Jewish Mediterranean, visiting poetry in Arabic, songs of the Sephardic Jews, and recently-composed songs. No. 4 is a short instrumental by Santaolalla, and there are two Christian Arab Easter songs. The one-minute song No. 8, "Be a string, water, to my guitar," by Palestinian poet Darwish, uses only the first half of the poem, with the second half recited over song No. 10. Upshaw demonstrates an amazing facility for conjuring up different vocal personalities. In some of the more sensual songs or the revolutionary song "Walls are encircling the land" she sounds completely different, like an Arabic hellion. The repeat of the Darwish poem uses four voices - three of them layering in electronically, singing a call to prayer while Upshaw recites the words of the poem over them. There are some interesting synth effects applied subtly here and there, and one of the instrumentalists plays a "hyper-accordion," whatever that is.

The Berio Folk Songs were created originally for his wife, the unique Cathy Berberian. It includes traditional tunes from Sicily, America, Armenia, Sardinia, Azerbaijan, Genoa and the Auvergne. In fact fans of Canteloube's Songs of the Auvergne (probably legions to whom this new disc will appeal strongly) will recognize songs Nos. 9 and 10 as also being included in Canteloube's cycle. If you're not yet familiar with this work, be assured that Berio kept his serial technique well in the background in arranging these lovely melodies.

- John Sunier

  Соисполнители :

Bridget Kibbey (Harp)
David Krakauer (Clarinet)
Eric Poland (Percussion)
Erik Friedlander (Cello)
Gordon Gottlieb (Percussion)
Gustavo Santaolalla (Guitar)
James Sommerville (Horn)
Jamey Haddad (Percussion)
Mark Dresser (Double Bass)
Michael Ward-Bergeman (Accordion)
Tara Helen O'Connor (Flute)
Todd Palmer (Clarinet)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 I. Mananita De San Juan (Morning Of St. John's Day)         0:03:54 Ayre
   2 II. Una Madre Comio Asado (A Mother Roasted Her Child)         0:03:01 -"-
   3 III. Tancas Serradas A Muru (Walls Are Encircling The Land)         0:02:57 -"-
   4 IV. Tancas Serradas A Muru (Walls Are Encircling The Land)         0:02:04 -"-
   5 V. Nanni         0:03:15 -"-
   6 VI. Wa Habibi (My Love)         0:06:15 -"-
   7 VII. Aiini Taqttiru (My Eyes Weep)         0:02:47 -"-
   8 VIII. Kun Li-Guitari Wataran Ayyuha Al-Maa' (Be A String, Water, To My Guitar)         0:01:14 -"-
   9 IX. Sueltate Las Cintas (Untie Your Ribbons)         0:01:40 -"-
   10 X. Yah, Anna Emtzacha (Oh, Where Shall I Find You?)         0:03:44 -"-
   11 XI. Ariadna En Su Laberinto (Ariadne In Her Labyrinth)         0:09:17 -"-
   12 I. Black Is The Colour (USA)         0:02:42 Folk Songs For Voice And Seven Instruments
   13 II. I Wonder As I Wander (USA)         0:02:06 -"-
   14 III. Loosin Yelav (Armenia)         0:02:35 -"-
   15 IV. Rosssignolet Du Bois (France)         0:01:28 -"-
   16 V. A La Femminisca (Sicily)         0:01:32 -"-
   17 VI. La Donna Ideale (Italy)         0:01:17 -"-
   18 VII. Ballo (Italy)         0:01:34 -"-
   19 VIII. Motettu De Tristura (Sardinia)         0:01:53 -"-
   20 IX. Malorous Qu'o Uno Fenno (Auvergne - France)         0:01:01 -"-
   21 X. Lo Fiolaire (Auvergne - France)         0:02:56 -"-
   22 XI. Azerbaijan Love Song (Azerbaijan)         0:02:48 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:09:30

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page