Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Die Jakobsleiter, Kammersymphonie Nr. 1

Год издания : 1982

Компания звукозаписи : Sony

Время звучания : 1:15:44

Код CD : SMK 48 462 (5 099704 846224)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Classics (Modern Classics)      

Chamber Symphony No1, Die Jacobsleiter

BBC Singers, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble InterContemporain


Die Jacobsleiter (Jacob's Ladder), oratorio

Оратория "Лестница Иакова"

As early as 1912, Schoenberg had begun planning some quasi-religious music, and between 1912 and 1917 worked on several pieces. Die Jakobsleiter, an oratorio begun in 1915 with his own text, was by far the most substantial of these, and it occupied Schoenberg for a number of years. In the summer of 1917, Schoenberg abandoned some of the smaller pieces he had been working on and turned his attention back to the oratorio. The title was taken from Balzac's Seraphita, which provided much of the inspiration for the oratorio. In Seraphita, Balzac mentions the story from Genesis, in which Jacob dreams of a ladder joining earth and heaven, with angels going up and down. Schoenberg, like Balzac, does not directly portray this biblical story; instead, Jacob's ladder symbolizes the theme of a connection between the earthly and the spiritual.

Die Jakobsleiter is an enormous, complex work scored for large orchestra, choruses, and soloists. It is structured much like a traditional oratorio, with clearly delineated sections devoted to aria, recitative, and chorus. The central character is the angel Gabriel, who oversees the action and comments upon it. The other characters include a number of "souls," who are called upon by Gabriel to explain how their pursuits in life were worthwhile. At the close of the first half of the libretto, the souls are found wanting and are admonished by Gabriel: they must return to earth and be reincarnated. In the second half, the imperfect souls begin their return to earth, descending from the higher level to the lower level. The character of the Chosen One, who appears in the first half to give advice to one of the souls, returns in the second half to receive Gabriel's wisdom in the form of a lecture on metaphysics and the importance of prayer. The oratorio ends with three choruses singing together, linking the souls from the high, middle, and low realms.

As with much of Schoenberg's dramatic music from his atonal period, there is some autobiographical significance to Die Jakobsleiter. The Chosen One, for example, like the Man in Schoenberg's 1911 opera Die Gluckliche Hand, is the contemporary artist called to a higher purpose, who must struggle with his peers as he looks to the art of the future. Musically, the oratorio represents a refinement of Schoenberg's earlier atonal practices, and looks ahead to the 12-tone method in its organization of chromatic structures.

Schoenberg was unable to finish the oratorio as he was called to active military service in September, 1917. Although he had completed a great deal of the music, after the war he was unable to finish the work, despite several subsequent attempts to revive it.

- Alexander Carpenter

  Соисполнители :

Соисполнители не найдены

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 'Ob Rechts, Ob Links Vorwarts Oder Ruckwarts' (Gabriel, Chor)         0:04:51 Die Jacobsleiter (Jacob's Ladder), Oratorio
   2 'Ohne Zu Fragen?' (Chor, Gabriel)         0:04:47 -"-
   3 'Gleichviel! Weiter!' (Gabriel, Ein Berufener)         0:03:54 -"-
   4 'Du Bist Immerhin Zufrieden Mit Dir' (Gabriel, Ein Aufruehrerischer)         0:02:10 -"-
   5 'Dies Entweder Und Dies Oder' (Gabriel, Ein Ringender)         0:03:55 -"-
   6 'Gegen Seinen Und Euren Willen' (Gabriel)         0:02:26 -"-
   7 'Ich Sollte Nicht Naeher Denn Ich Verliere Dabei' (Der Auserwaehlte, Gabriel)         0:05:40 -"-
   8 'Herr, Verzeih Meine Ueberhebung' (Der Moench, Gabriel)         0:05:10 -"-
   9 'Herr, Mein Ganzes Leben Lang' (Der Sterbende)         0:03:31 -"-
   10 'Nahst Du Wieder Dem Licht?' (Gabriel, Chor)         0:03:25 -"-
   11 Grosses Symphonisches Zwischenspiel         0:07:37 -"-
   12 Chamber Symphony No. 1 In E Major, Op. 9         0:19:54  
   13 Accompaniment To A Film-Scene (Begleitungsmusik Zu Einer Lichtspielszene), Op. 34         0:08:25  


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:09:13

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page