Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   12 Songs

Год издания : 2005

Компания звукозаписи : Cryptogramophone, (wb)

Музыкальный стиль : Modern Creative, Modern Composition

Время звучания : 55:31

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Free)      

Recording Date - Dec 13,14, 2004

No one can accuse violinist and composer Jenny Scheinman of promulgating any kind of jazz cliche, or even of fitting in especially well with the rest of the Cryptogramophone label's crew of off-kilter jazz experimentalists. Her obsession is with songs and with lyrics - neither of which appear on this paradoxically titled album. The 12 compositions here aren't actually songs, but are meant to feel like songs, by which Scheinman means that they're intended to be clear, straightforward, singable, and emotionally direct. This they generally do achieve, but even when things get a bit opaque (as on the saucy and slightly goofy "Moe Hawk" and the meandering "Antenna") they're still emotionally compelling. On the album's finest moments, which include a tenderly beautiful composition titled "Sleeping in the Aquifer," which subtly evokes the old hymn "Abide with Me, 'Tis Eventide," a gorgeous violin-and-clarinets trio titled "Little Calypso," and the sweet and gentle "Albert," it really does feel as if Scheinman is sitting down and talking to you, or singing quietly into your ear. On the brilliant "Song of the Open Road," Scheinman and cornetist Ron Miles lock into a graceful waltz, while Bill Frisell's guitar churns away below with controlled ferocity and bassist Tim Luntzel thrums out an insistent pedal point. This kind of balance between directness, intensity, and complexity makes 12 Songs a more than usually impressive and compelling modern jazz album.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Bill Frisell (Guitar)
Dan Rieser (Drums)
Doug Wieselman (Clarinet)
Rachelle Garniez (Piano, Accordion)
Tim Luntzel (Bass)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 The Frog Threw His Head Back And Laughed         0:06:09 Scheinman
   2 Song Of The Open Road         0:05:01 -"-
   3 Moe Hawk         0:06:37 -"-
   4 Sleeping In The Aquifer         0:03:16 -"-
   5 The Bouy Song         0:04:40 -"-
   6 She Couldn't Beleive It Was True         0:03:59 -"-
   7 Suza         0:05:24 -"-
   8 Little Calypso         0:03:00 -"-
   9 Satelite         0:01:57 -"-
   10 Antenna         0:07:31 -"-
   11 Albert         0:03:27 -"-
   12 June 21         0:04:31 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:07:57

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page