Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Sun Ra  (Piano)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Space Is The Place

Год издания : 1972

Компания звукозаписи : GRP

Музыкальный стиль : Avant-Garde Jazz, Free Jazz, Progressive Big Band, Modern Big Band, Post-Bop

Время звучания : 1:14:52

Код CD : ECD 22070-2 (7 30182 20702 6)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Free - Avant-Garde)      

All compositions and arrangements Enterplanetary Koncepts, BMI

Recorded October 19 and 20 (Sea Of Sounds, Rocket Number Nine), 1972, at Streeterville Recording Studio, Chicago

Mixed at The Village Recorder, Los Angeles

The Arkestra and Space Ethnic Voices perform with permission from El Saturn Records

Space Is The Place was originally released on Blue Thumb Records in 1973 as BTS-41. Impulse producer Ed Michel supervised the recording session. Impulse, then owned by ABC, was releasing many of Sun Ra's albums under a distribution agreement with Saturn Records during the same time. For these reasons Space In The Place has been returned to its rightful place on Impulse.


Space Is the Place provides an excellent introduction to Sun Ra's vast and free-form jazz catalog. Typical of many Sun Ra recordings, the program is varied; earthbound songs, like the swing number "Images" and Egyptian exotica piece "Discipline," fit right in with more space-age cuts, like the tumultuous "Sea of Sounds" and the humorous "Rocket Number Nine." Sun Ra fuses many of these styles on the sprawling title cut, as interlocking harmonies, African percussion, manic synthesizer lines, and joyous ensemble blowing all jell into some sort of church revival of the cosmos. Throughout the recording, Sun Ra displays his typically wide-ranging talents on space organ and piano, reed players John Gilmore and Marshall Allen contribute incisive and intense solos, and June Tyson masterfully leads the Space Ethnic Voices on dreamy vocal flights. This is a fine recording and a must for Sun Ra fans.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Akh Tal Ebah (Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Vocals)
Danny Davis (Flute, Alt Saxophone)
Danny Ray Thompson (Flute, Baritone Saxophone, Vocals)
Eloe Omoe (Flute, Clarinet)
John Gilmore (Tenor Saxophone, Vocals)
Judith Holton (Vocals)
June Tyson (Vocals)
Marshall Allen (Flute, Alt Saxophone)
Pat Patrick (Bass, Baritone Saxophone, Vocals)
Ruth Wright (Vocals)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 It's After The End Of The World         0:03:30  
   2 Under Different Stars         0:04:01  
   3 Discipline 33         0:03:26  
   4 Watusa         0:07:16  
   5 Calling Planet Earth         0:03:09  
   6 I Am The Alter-Destiny         0:01:14  
   7 Satellites Are Spinning         0:02:38  
   8 Cosmic Forces         0:03:14  
   9 Outer Spaceways Incorporated         0:03:05  
   10 We Travel The Spaceways         0:02:33  
   11 The Overseer         0:03:10  
   12 Blackman / Love In Outer Space         0:16:57  
   13 Mysterious Crystal         0:05:58  
   14 I Am The Brother Of The Wind         0:05:59  
   15 We'll Wait For You         0:04:17  
   16 Space Is The Place         0:04:24  


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:07:55

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page