Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Shaham, Gil  (Violin)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Devils Dance

Год издания : 2000

Компания звукозаписи : Deutsche Grammophon

Время звучания : 1:09:06

Код CD : 463 483-2 (0 28946 34832 1)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Classics (Popular)      

Some would suspect this disc to be an abomination in the eyes of God and man; it is actually a pleasant little disc of what used to be called encores. You remember encores: the technically virtuosic but musically lightweight works that a performer would play after the real recital was over. Now those days are gone. Nowadays what used to be encores - the chocolate mousse and Napoleon brandy after a full musical meal - are the meat and potatoes of the music industry.

This disc is an entire dessert tray full of sweet confections. Some of them are extremely light, past the point of frivolity to inanity: John Williams' Devil's Dance (from The Witches of Eastwick) and John Morris' A Transylvanian Lullaby (from Young Frankenstein). Some are musically more substantial but still pretty silly: Sarasate's Concert Fantasy on Gound's Faust, Korngold's Caprice Fantastique, and especially the piano-and-violin transcription of Saint-Saens Danse Macabre. Some are charming: Brahms' Walpurgisnacht, Mendelssohn's Hexenlied, and especially William Bolcom's gorgeous Graceful Ghost Rag. Some are flat-out stunning: Tartini's "Devil's Trill" Sonata.

All are played with technical mastery, a great sense of fun, and no sense of slumming by virtuoso violinist Gil Shaham. Some aspects of the disc are goofy: the photograph on the back cover with Shaham and his accompanist holding flashlights under their faces reminds one of Cub Scout camp, and the liner notes are the purest pandering. But, despite all this, the disc is a lot of fun.

All Music Guide


You have been warned-the devil is at work. Entertaining violinist Gil Shaham follows his Fiddler of the Opera disc by playing "devil's advocate", with pieces inspired by the violin's association with the music of the devil. Shaham and pianist Jonathan Feldman give wonderful performances of unusual repertoire by Brahms, Mendelssohn and Grieg, and virtuosic showpieces by Paganini and Sarasate. The devilish tone is set with John Williams' excellent new arrangement of "The Devil's Dance" from The Witches of Eastwick. In this and Morris' Transylvanian Lullaby, Shaham captures a particularly eerie and uncomfortable atmosphere using a fantastic range of tone colour. Lighter relief comes with interludes from the mischievous Puck (Grieg) and the Lutins (Bazzini). Other obvious inclusions are Saint-Saens' Danse Macabre and Tartini's "The Devil's Trill". Shaham finishes enigmatically with "Obsession" from Ysaye's Second Sonata, which uses famous themes by Bach-almost like the devil stealing all the best tunes. Will you give into temptation and disobey the warning not to play the track before track one? Go on-be tempted into sampling these hellish delights for a perfect Halloween experience.

- Leigh Aspin

  Соисполнители :

Jonathan Feldman (Piano)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Devil's Dance, For Violin & Piano (from Witches Of Eastwick)         0:04:12 John Williams
   2 A Transylvanian Rhapsody From Young Frankenstein, For Violin & Piano         0:03:59 John Morris (composer) Arr. By Feldman: A Transylvanian Lullaby
   3 Smеtrold (Puck), Lyric Piece For Piano, Op. 71 / 3         0:01:46 Edvard Grieg
   4 Danse Macabre, Symphonic Poem In G Minor, Op. 40         0:06:41 Camille Saint-Saens
   5 Marchenbilder, For Piano, No. 4, The Gnomes, Op. 3 / 4         0:03:54 Erich Wolfgang Korngold
   6 Walpurgisnacht ('Lieb Mutter, Heut Nacht...'), Duet For 2 Sopranos & Piano, Op. 75 / 4         0:01:49 Johannes Brahms
   7 Andres Maienlied ('Die Schwalbe Fliegt'), Song For Voice & Piano ('Hexenlied'), Op. 8 / 8         0:02:18 Felix Mendelssohn
   8 La Ronde Des Lutins, Scherzo Fantastique For Violin & Piano, Op 25         0:05:16 Antonio Bazzini
   9 The Graceful Ghost, A Concert Variation For Violin & Piano         0:08:31 William Bolcom
   10 Concert Fantasy On Themes From Gounod's 'Faust,' For Violin & Orchestra (or Piano)         0:11:23 Pablo De Sarasate
   11 Caprice For Solo Violin In B Flat Major ('The Devil's Chuckle'), Op. 1 / 13         0:02:43 Niccolae Paganini
   12 Sonata For Violin & Continuo In G Minor, B. G5 ('The Devil's Trill')         0:14:16 Giuseppe Tartini
   13 Sonata For Violin Solo No. 2 In A Minor ('Obsession'), Op. 27 / 2: Obsession         0:02:17 Eugene Ysaue


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:07:53

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page