Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Live In Greenwich Village: The Complete Impulse Sessions

Год издания : 1998

Компания звукозаписи : Impulse!

Время звучания : 2:14:09

К-во CD : 2

Код CD : ZZ-98/66GP0001868

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Free)      

Recording Date: Mar 28, 1965-Feb 26, 1967

This double CD from 1998 combines all of the music on tenor saxophonist Albert Ayler's In Greenwich Village recording with a two-album set from the same sessions, titled The Village Concerts (the latter taken from two concerts in 1966-1967). In addition, there is one number from 1965, originally included on the sampler The New Wave in Jazz, and a previously unissued (and incomplete) "Universal Thoughts" from the 1967 date, one of the very few examples of Ayler using a trombonist (the forgotten George Steele). Taken as a whole, these are among the most rewarding recordings that the controversial Ayler ever made. They will not convince detractors of the radical saxophonist's music but they are more accessible than much of his music. Teamed up with brother Donald Ayler on trumpet, violinist Michel Sampson, occasional cellist Joel Freedman, two bassists (Bill Fowell and either Henry Grimes or Alan Silva), and drummer Beaver Harris, Ayler uses simple march-like melodies, which could have come from 1905, as the basis for his improvisations, which often become quite violent. Among the pieces are "Truth Is Marching In," "Spirits Rejoice," "Angels" (an Albert Ayler duet with pianist Call Cobbs), "For John Coltrane," and "Change Has Come." Donald Ayler's bugle-like fanfares and the droning violin certainly make the ensemble's sound quite unique.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Alan Silva (Bass)
Beaver Harris (Drums)
Bill Folwell (Bass)
George Steele (Trombone)
Henry Grimes (Bass)
Joel Freedman (Cello)
Lewis Worrell (Bass)
Michel Sampson (Violin)
Sunny Murray (Drums)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 01 Holy Ghost         0:07:43 Ayler
   1 02 The Truth Is Marching In         0:12:40 -"-
   1 03 Our Prayer         0:04:46 -"-
   1 04 Spirits Rejoice         0:16:22 -"-
   1 05 Divine Peacemaker         0:12:38 -"-
   1 06 Angels         0:09:53 -"-
   2 01 For John Coltrane         0:13:40 -"-
   2 02 Change Has Come         0:06:26 -"-
   2 03 Light In Darkness         0:10:58 -"-
   2 04 Heavenly Home         0:08:54 -"-
   2 05 Spiritual Rebirth         0:04:24 -"-
   2 06 Infinite Spirit         0:06:36 -"-
   2 07 Omega Is The Alpha         0:10:47 -"-
   2 08 Universal Thoughts         0:08:22 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:07:41

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page