Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :

Год издания : 2005

Компания звукозаписи : Verve

Музыкальный стиль : Crossover Jazz, Smooth Jazz, Contemporary Jazz

Время звучания : 53:10

Код CD : 02498 63197 (LC 00383)

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Saxophone)      

Saxophonist and composer David Sanborn has always been a maverick. A top-notch technician, he has always imbued his playing with deep emotion - indeed, that emotional element in his playing has been his signature since he began leading his own bands on record in the 1970s. He has wed modern jazz sophistication to the smooth jazz groove for many years now, and has followed his muse while remaining a commercially viable artist. Closer is another exercise in ambition for Sanborn and his sidemen. They include bassist Christian McBride, guitarist Russell Malone, Larry Goldings on electric piano and organ, vibist Mike Manieri, and drummer Steve Gadd, among others. The material is a fine collection of pop tunes, standards, and surprises from the jazz canon. First, the bad news: Sanborn and vocalist Liz Wright team up for a version of James Taylor's "Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight" that is as bland as soy milk. That said, Sanborn's read of Abdullah Ibrahim's "Capetown Fringe" carries within it the joy and dignity of Ibrahim's original and proves to the public something Sanborn has been aware of all along - that the composer's music is truly accessible to the masses. Underscore this for the album's opener, a smoking little groove read of Gil Fuller and Chano Pozo's "Tin Tin Deo." Horace Silver's "Enchantment" and "Senor" are given fine finger-popping treatments, as are the stellar standards "Ballad of the Sad Young Men," "You Must Believe in Spring," and the beautiful "Poinciana." There is a lovely version of Charlie Chaplin's "Smile" here, given chamber orchestra treatment. Sanborn contributes a pair as well, in the silvery ballad "Another Time, Another Place" and the album's closer, the haunting "Sofia," with a fine string and horn treatment by Gil Goldstein. Once more, Sanborn has wed his commercial and creative aspirations into a thoroughly engaging whole.

-Thom Jurek (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Alex Sipiagin (Trumpet, Flugelhorn)
Belinda Whitney (Violin)
Bob Sheppard (Flute, Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone)
Christian McBride (Bass)
Dave Eggar (Cello)
Gil Goldstein (Accordion, Piano)
Joyce Hammann (Violin)
Larry Goldings (Organ, Piano)
Lizz Wright (Vocals)
Luis Quintero (Percussion)
Mike Davis (Trombone)
Mike Mainieri (Vibraphone)
Ron Lawrence (Viola)
Russell Malone (Guitar)
Sheryl Henze (Flute)
Steve Gadd (Drums)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Tin Tin Deo         0:06:20 Fuller, Pozo
   2 Senor Blues         0:05:10 Silver
   3 Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight         0:06:08 Taylor
   4 Smile         0:03:52 Chaplin, Parsons, Turner
   5 Enchantment         0:04:29 Silver
   6 Ballad Of The Sad Young Men         0:04:01 Landesman, Wolf
   7 Another Time, Another Place         0:06:06 Sanborn
   8 Capetown Fringe         0:03:25 Ibrahim
   9 Poinciana         0:06:04 Bernier, Simon
   10 You Must Believe In Spring         0:03:50 Bergman, Bergman, Demy ...
   11 Sofia         0:03:45 Sanborn


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:06:51

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page