Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Coil  (Group)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :

Год издания : 2000/1988

Компания звукозаписи : Someb, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Dark Ambient, Industrial, Experimental, Electronic

Время звучания : 55:52

Код CD : 508492

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Rock (Hard)      

Scatology [1988 Reissue]

1 - Four sounds, sampled and sequenced on a Fairlight CMI.

3 - An improvisation at Aosis Studios.

4 - Backing track composed on the Fairlight.

5 - Original rhythm played on Mimic sampling keyboard and recorded on TEAC 4 track cassette machine and then bounced to 24 track for the addition of Ocarina, organ, sampled drums and vocals.

6 - Recorded live at the Bar Maldoror, September 3rd, 1984.

7 - This track consists of samples made from private recordings and from "How to Destroy Angels".

8 - Originally to be called "Ergot".

"The name 'Coil', first used by John Balance in Autumn 1982 for his solo works, now represents him in collaboration with Peter Christopherson."

"We would like to thank the following, who were all most obliging in one way or another: Marc A., Stevo, Rob, Jane and Sue, Gavin Friday, Steve, Nick Alvarez, Tibet 93, Barry Clempson, God's Gift, Max & Richard, Fritz, Derek J., Marc Monin, Bastille, and Leon, wherever he is."

Originally released on LP in 1984.

"The Spoiler" is an unreleased alternative version. "Restless Day" is a CD bonus track, originally released on the compilation LP Devastate To Liberate (Yang-Ki Records). "Aqua Regis" and "Tainted Love" are CD bonus tracks, taken from the 12" Panic / Tainted Love.

Coil's first official full-length album, Scatology, is one of the essential landmarks in the group's discography and, moreover, one of the '80s industrial scene's more vital and influential recordings. This is the first part of the essential Coil trilogy that also includes Horse Rotorvator and Love's Secret Domain. The 1984 album exhibits the group at its early industrial stage, in transition to the undefined genre of astral noise psychedelia that Coil would inhabit for the following decades without peer or precedent. The core duo of Peter Christopherson and John Balance are joined by Clint Ruin (aka Jim Thirlwell), whose role in the production cannot be underestimated, as well as Stephen E. Thrower, Throbbing Gristle's Alex Ferguson, vocalist Gavin Friday of the Wolfgang Press, and one Raoul Revere (who is in fact British camp pop legend and Soft Cell vocalist Marc Almond). "Restless Day" is a haunting rumination that defies description, other than being an utterly essential self-defining moment in the Coil paradigm, with an atmosphere hanging in the tense space between harsh noise and harmony that apparently causes time to cease. "The Tenderness of Wolves" features the vocals of Friday in one of the more poetic moments of the '80s post-industrial sound. At the album's somber end, this outstanding work finishes with a rendition of "Tainted Love" featuring Almond, who had made the track a new wave hit with Soft Cell. Here, however, the tune is given a bleak slow-motion version that could be read as a tragically suggestive commentary on the AIDS epidemic of the era. The album was originally released on Force & Form/Some Bizzare, and was the subject of numerous bootlegs and illegitimate versions. For the record, the 2001 version on Threshold House/ World Serpent is the only version authorized by the group. Maybe the numerous LP and CD versions that have appeared since its original release are suggestive of just how vital the album is, not only in the Coil discography but to the industrial electronica scene as a whole. Scatology is nothing short of essential.

-Skip Jansen (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Al Ferguson (Acoustic Guitar)
Gavin Friday (Vocals)
John Balance (Synthesizer, Bass, Guitar, Vocals)
Peter Christopherson (Piano)
Stephen Thrower (Clarinet, Percussion)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Ubu Noir         0:02:13  
   2 Panic         0:04:25 Balance, Christopherson ...
   3 At The Heart Of It All         0:05:18  
   4 The Tenderness Of Wolves         0:04:30 Friday
   5 The Spoiler         0:04:14 Unreleased Alternative Version
   6 Clap         0:01:22  
   7 Aqua Regis         0:04:50  
   8 Restless Day         0:02:55 Originally Released On Yang-Ki Records
   9 Solar Lodge         0:05:39  
   10 The S.W.B.P.         0:04:29  
   11 Godhead - Deathead         0:05:21  
   12 Cathedral In Flames         0:04:43  
   13 Tainted Love         0:05:53  


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:06:43

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page