Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Unconquered People

Год издания : 1980

Компания звукозаписи : VP, (wb)

Музыкальный стиль : Contemporary Reggae

Время звучания : 37:12

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Rock (Reggae)      

First released 1980 (Info from Greensleeves Version)

Recorded and mixed at Tuff Gong Studios - Jamaica

With the acclaim that greeted Israel Vibration's debut album, Same Song, the Vibes returned to the studio with producer Tommy Cowan and the same aggregate of superb session men to record their follow-up, Unconquered People. However, the trio would co-produce the set this time around. The difference between the two records goes beyond the shift in production styles, though. The Vibes' very lack of experience had graced their first set with a subtle sense of naivete, a quality that charmed the public and critics alike. This time, their self-confidence is evident, something the broadening of themes also makes clear. Same Song was almost entirely devotional, a liturgy of prayer and homage, and while the Vibes' deeply held beliefs still color every track, the trio now begins to move beyond the religious arena. The militant "Mr. Taxman" is pure culture, while the sufferer's song "Top Control" and "Possibilities" beautifully blend culture and devotion. "We a de Rasta," in contrast, is a quiet celebration of dreadness, whose muted arrangement and understated delivery conversely build up the piece's inherent anthemic quality. A truly sublime number. The musicianship is masterful throughout, the arrangements top-notch, and the trio shines across the entire set. Few groups follow up an exceptional debut with a second set of equal quality, but the Vibes make it look easy.

-Jo-Ann Greene (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Alvin Haughton (Percussion)
Aston Barrett (Bass)
Augustus Pablo (Piano)
Carlton 'Carlie' Barrett (Drums)
Cornell Marshall (Drums)
Dean Fraser (Saxophone)
Earl Lindo (Keyboards)
Eric Frater (Guitar)
Franklyn Waul (Keyboards)
Junior Chin (Trumpet)
Michael Starr (Guitar)
Mikey Chung (Guitar)
Sweeney Williams (Guitar)
Tyrone Downie (Keyboards)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Give I Grace         0:03:57 Spence
   2 Friday Evening         0:03:33 Craig
   3 Mr. Taxman         0:04:12 Bulgin
   4 Survive         0:03:29 -"-
   5 Top Control         0:03:37 Spence
   6 We A De Rasta         0:04:03 Craig
   7 Unconquered People         0:03:55 Bulgin
   8 Possibility         0:03:41 Spence
   9 Dwellers Of Darkness         0:03:13 Bulgin
   10 Practice What Jah Teach         0:03:32 Craig


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:06:43

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page