Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Yes  (Group)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :

Год издания : 1969/2013

Компания звукозаписи : Atlantic

Музыкальный стиль : Album Rock, British Psychedelia, Prog-Rock, Arena Rock

Время звучания : 1:19:48

Код CD : 8122796496-1

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Rock (Psychedelic)      

The Studio Albums 1969-1987 (Remastered)

12 Classic Albums plus 62 Bonus tracks

Album No 01

in Box:

01 - Yes

02 - Time And A Word

03 - Fragile

04 - The Yes Album

05 - Close To The Edge

06 - Tales From Topographic Oceans

07 - Relayer

08 - Going For The One

09 - Tormato

10 - Drama

11 - 90125

12 - Big Generator

## 1-8 - "Yes" Debut album (1969)

Yes' debut album is surprisingly strong, given the inexperience of all those involved at the time. In an era when psychedelic meanderings were the order of the day, Yes delivered a surprisingly focused and exciting record that covered lots of bases (perhaps too many) in presenting their sound. The album opens boldly, with the fervor of a metal band of the era playing full tilt on "Beyond and Before," but it is with the second number, a cover of the Byrds' "I See You," that they show some of their real range. The song is highlighted by an extraordinary jazz workout from lead guitarist Peter Banks and drummer Bill Bruford that runs circles around the original by Roger McGuinn and company. "Harold Land" was the first song on which Chris Squire's bass playing could be heard in anything resembling the prominence it would eventually assume in their sound and anticipates in its structure the multi-part suites the group would later record, with its extended introduction and its myriad shifts in texture, timbre, and volume. And then there is "Every Little Thing," the most daring Beatles cover ever to appear on an English record, with an apocalyptic introduction and extraordinary shifts in tempo and dynamics, Banks' guitar and Bruford's drums so animated that they seem to be playing several songs at once. This song also hosts an astonishingly charismatic performance by Jon Anderson. There were numerous problems in recording this album, owing to the inexperience of the group, the producer, and the engineer, in addition to the unusual nature of their sound. Many of the numbers give unusual prominence to the guitar and drums, thus making it the most uncharacteristic of all the group's albums. Its first decent-sounding edition anywhere came with the 1997 remastering by Atlantic.

-Bruce Eder

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Bill Bruford (Drums, Vibraphone)
Chris Squire (Bass, Vocals)
Jon Anderson (Percussion, Vocals)
Peter Banks (Guitar, Vocals)
Tony Kaye (Organ, Piano, Keyboards)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Beyond And Before         0:04:56 Bailey, Squire
   2 I See You         0:06:53 Crosby, McGuinn
   3 Yesterday And Today         0:02:52 Anderson
   4 Looking Around         0:04:20 Anderson, Squire
   5 Harold Land         0:05:47 Anderson, Bruford, Squire
   6 Every Little Thing         0:05:47 Lennon, McCartney
   7 Sweetness         0:04:35 Anderson, Bailey, Squire
   8 Survival     T       0:06:23 Anderson
   9 Everydays         0:06:24 Bonus, Single Version UK B-side, October 1969
   10 Dear Father         0:05:52 Bonus, Early Version #2, Previously Unreleased
   11 Something's Coming     T       0:07:10 Bonus - UK Single, April 1969
   12 Everydays         0:05:19 Bonus, Early Version, Previously Unreleased
   13 Dear Father         0:05:32 Bonus, Early Version #1, Previously Unreleased
   14 Something's Coming     T       0:08:02 Bonus, Early Version, Previously Unreleased


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:06:28

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page