Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Community Music

Год издания : 2000

Компания звукозаписи : Virgin

Музыкальный стиль : Electronica

Время звучания : 1:09:55

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Rock (Reggae)      

Anarchist Emma Goldman said, "if I can't dance, it's not my revolution." This sentiment lies at the core of Community Music. At the intersection of dub, punk, funk, reggae, dancehall, Bollywood and political polemic you'll find Asian Dub Foundation. And you most certainly can dance to it. Community Music is thick with speaking Truth to Power while ADF storms the Bastille with an awe-inspiring musical ferocity and their crystalline political vision. The first half of Community Music is fierce and unrelenting in its musical influences, construction and politics. From the thunderous opening cut, "Real Great Britain" we are left in no uncertain terms where the politics of ADF lie or how passionately they hold them. Sharp observations on the current state of capitalism, politics and race in Britain form the focal point of the CD. The blistering exposй of police incompetence on "Officer XX" refers to the botched Stephen Lawrence murder inquiry, while set to a simple guitar and drum pattern. The stirring dub-electronic account of how second-generation immigrants to Britain have emerged both influenced and in turn influencing Cool Britannia, on "New Way, New Life" making it one of their strongest songs to date. While on the opposite side of the same coin, "Memory War," illustrates that the immigrant communities are not a new form of British citizen, and their contributions must be included in the official histories of the island. The second half slows the pace gradually, stretching the musical genres further and encouraging dancing. "Crash" is a didactic dub reggae dance groove critique of global capitalism which blazes out in a frenzy of jungle drums and punk guitar. As an ode to Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, a seminal figure in the emergence of "Eastern" music to Western ears and one given a much-deserved shout-out by ADF, the piece "Taa Deem" has appeared in a slightly different version on Star Rise, a remix collection of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan's material by a who's who of contemporary British Asian musicians. The shuffling dance grooves and rap of "Rebel Warrior" call to mind the Stereo MCs. A further illustration of their politics, if needed, by Assata Shakur who is invited to give a personal account of her revolutionary beliefs, to: "struggle because committed to life." Community Music ends with an expansive electronic dub coda. As "England's new voice," calling for intellectual self-defence and self- awareness ADF represents the potential future. Community Music should be in every thinking person's collection, directly between the Clash and PE.

- Chris Grimshaw (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Aniruddha Das (Bass, Vocals)
Benjamin Zephaniah (Vocals)
Duncan Mackay (Trumpet)
Jim Hunt (Saxophone)
Johnny Kalsi (Tabla)
Louis Beckett (Acoustic Guitar, Keyboards)
Nichol Thompson (Trombone)
Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan (Vocals)
Steve Chandra Savale (Guitar, Vocals)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Real Great Britain         0:03:14 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   2 Memory War         0:03:35 Das / Pandit /Savale /Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   3 Officer XX         0:03:21 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   4 New Way, New Life         0:05:01 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   5 Riddim I Like         0:04:28 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen / Zephaniah
   6 Collective Mode         0:03:52 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   7 Crash         0:05:25 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   8 Colour Line         0:04:02 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   9 Taa Deem         0:04:47 Das / Khan / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman
   10 The Judgement         0:04:14 Das / Pandit G / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   11 Truth Hides         0:08:22 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   12 Rebel Warrior         0:06:23 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman
   13 Committed To Life         0:04:45 Andrade / Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen
   14 Scaling New Heights         0:08:26 Das / Pandit / Savale / Tailor / Zaman / Zamen


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:06:17

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page