Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   De Grigny, Nicolas  (Composer) , Jean-Jacques Grunenwald (Conductor
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Le Livre D'Orgue. Vol.2: Les Hymnes

Год издания : 1986

Компания звукозаписи : Accord

Время звучания : 54:23

Код CD : Accord 149174

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Sacred Music (Master Works)      

Jean-Jacques Grunenwald - conductor

Jean-Albert Villard - orgue

Vol. 1

========= from the cover ==========

Nicolas de Grigny was born in Rheims in February 1671, and baptised on 8 September 1672 in the church of Saint-Pierre-le-Vieil (1), where his grandfather and one of his uncles had been organists. It was a musical family - his grandfather, father and two of his uncles played the organ - and he no doubt received his first music lessons at home. Perhaps he was given advice by Jacques Rousseau, the choir master of the cathedral where the French kings were crowned. Nothing is known of his life before 1693, when he became organist of the abbey church of Saint-Denis (2). He may have obtained the appointment through his brother Andre, who was subprior of the famous abbey at the time. In 1695, Nicolas de Grigny was listed in the polltax register among first-class organists, who were taxed 15 pounds.

In the same year he married Marie-Madeleine de France, daughter of Sieur Nicolas de France, "merchant and burgher of Paris". The mar-riage certificate (Paris, 27 July 1695) (3) gives Grigny's address as rue Simon le Franc, in the parish of Saint-Mederic. Half of this mediaeval street still exists today. The certificate also gives the names of the witnesses to the marriage: "Sieur Noel Cogney organist at Les Grands Augustins, and Sieur Nicolas le Begue, the King's organist, friends...". This confirms a statement published in a gazette of the time, "Le Mercure Galant", according to which Grigny was a disciple ofle Begue. So we know at least one of his teachers. Grigny had seven children, and the first was born in Rheims in 1696.

The exact date when Grigny left Saint-Denis for Rheims is not known. He was organist at Rheims cathedral in 1697 (5), but we do not know if this was his first appointment there, or whether he played at Saint-Pierre-le-Vieil before that. The only surviving work by Nicolas de Grigny was engraved at that period by Roussel (6) .

Apart from the date of his death (30 November 1703) we have no other information about him. He was buried on 1 December "in the cemetery of Saint-Michel, commonly known as Saint-Denis, with the usual ceremonies" (7). His father succeeded him as organist in the cathedral, until his own death in 1709.

In 1711, Ballard issued a reprint of the plates of the original edition (8), which shows how popular the composer was, eight years after his death.

Another point of interest is that the organ of Rheims cathedral was restored in 1696 (9), probably just before the new organist took up his appointment. This is all that we know about this French genius, who died at the age of thirty one, and who left only one work, but such a fine one that Bach copied it out in full Grigny's organ book does not consist of "instrumental suites". Its object is to serve and paraphrase the sung service. In the 17th century, organ and plainsong alternated, each enhancing the other.

How was the liturgy sung in Grigny's time ? This is not the place for conjectures, however serious. It is better to listen to this reconstitu-tion of the Gregorian chant, in all its purity, thanks to research at Solesmes.

  Соисполнители :

Jean-Albert Villard (Organ)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Vem Creator, En Taille A 5 / 'Vem Creator Spintus'         0:02:38 Veni Creator - Orgue / Choeur
   2 Fugue A 5 / 'Tu Septiformis Munere'         0:02:55 Orgue / Choeur
   3 Duo / 'Hostem Repel Las Longius'         0:02:43 -"-
   4 Recit De Cromorne / 'Deo Patri Sit Gloria''         0:03:21 -"-
   5 Dialogue Sur Les Grands Jeux         0:03:32 Orgue
   6 Pange Lingua, En Taille A 4 / 'Nobis Datus, Nobis Natus'         0:02:53 Pange Lingua - Orgue / Choeur
   7 Fugue A 5 / 'Verbum Caro, Panem Verum'         0:03:40 Orgue / Choeur
   8 Recit Du Chant De L'hymne Precedent         0:02:31 Orgue
   9 Ler Verset (Plein-jeu) / 'Verbum Supernum Prodiens'         0:01:46 Verbum Supernum - Orgue / Choeur
   10 Fugue / 'Quibus Sub Bina Specie'         0:02:20 Orgue / Choeur
   11 Recit En Dialogue / 'O Salutans Hostia'         0:02:32 -"-
   12 Recit De Basse De Trompette Ou De Cromorne         0:01:44 Orgue
   13 Ler Verset (Plein-jeu) / 'Sumens Mud Ave'         0:01:36 A Vemaris Stella - Orgue / Choeur
   14 Fugue A 4 / 'Monstra Te Esse Matrem '         0:03:35 Orgue / Choeur
   15 Duo / 'Vitam Praesta Puram '         0:02:03 -"-
   16 Dialogue Sur Les Grands Jeux         0:03:33 Orgue
   17 Ler Verset (Plein-jeu) / 'Beatus Auctor Saeculi'         0:01:57 A Solis Ortus - Orgue / Choeur
   18 Fugue A 5 / 'Domus Pudici Pectoris'         0:03:34 Orgue / Choeur
   19 Trio / 'Gaudet Chorus Coelestium'         0:02:53 -"-
   20 Point D'orgue Sur Les Grands Jeux         0:02:38 Orgue


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 19/10/2016 22:10:00

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page