Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Talking Heads  (Group)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Speaking In Tongues

Год издания : 1983

Компания звукозаписи : Sire, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : New Wave, Pop/Rock, Album Rock, College Rock

Время звучания : 47:12

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Rock (Album Rock)      

Talking Heads found a way to open up the dense textures of the music they had developed with Brian Eno on their two previous studio albums for Speaking in Tongues, and were rewarded with their most popular album yet. Ten backup singers and musicians accompanied the original quartet, but somehow the sound was more spacious, and the music admitted aspects of gospel, notably in the call-and-response of "Slippery People," and John Lee Hooker-style blues, on "Swamp." As usual, David Byrne determinedly sang and chanted impressionistic, nonlinear lyrics, sometimes by mix-and-matching clichйs ("No visible means of support and you have not seen nuthin' yet," he declared on "Burning Down the House," the Heads' first Top Ten hit), and the songs' very lack of clear meaning was itself a lyrical subject. "Still don't make no sense," Byrne admitted in "Making Flippy Floppy," but by the next song, "Girlfriend Is Better," that had become an order - "Stop making sense," he chanted over and over. Some of his charming goofiness had returned since the overly serious Remain in Light and Fear of Music, however, and the accompanying music, filled with odd percussive and synthesizer sounds, could be unusually light and bouncy. The album closer, "This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)," even sounded hopeful. Well, sort of. Despite their formal power, Talking Heads' last two albums seemed to have painted them into a corner, which may be why it took them three years to craft a follow-up, but on Speaking in Tongues, they found an open window and flew out of it.

- William Ruhlmann (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Alex Weir (Guitar, Vocals)
Bernie Worrell (Synthesizer)
Chris Frantz (Synthesizer, Drums, Background Vocals)
David Byrne (Bass, Guitar, Percussion, Keyboards, Vocals)
David Van Tieghem (Percussion)
Dolette MacDonald (Background Vocals)
Dollette McDonald (Percussion, Vocals)
Jerry Harrison (Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals, Background Vocals)
Lakshminarayana Shankar (Violin)
Nona Hendryx (Vocals, Background Vocals)
Raphael Dejesus (Percussion)
Richard Landry (Saxophone)
Steve Scales (Percussion)
Tina Weymouth (Synthesizer, Bass, Guitar, Background Vocals)
Wally Badarou (Synthesizer)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Burning Down The House     T       0:04:03 Byrne / Frantz / Harrison / Weymouth
   2 Making Flippy Floppy     T       0:05:55 -"-
   3 Girlfriend Is Better     T       0:05:45 -"-
   4 Slippery People     T       0:05:07 -"-
   5 I Get Wild: Wild Gravity     T       0:05:17 -"-
   6 Swamp     T       0:05:16 -"-
   7 Moon Rocks     T       0:05:45 -"-
   8 Pull Up The Roots     T       0:05:10 -"-
   9 This Must Be The Place     T       0:04:54 Naive Melody - Byrne / Frantz / Harrison / Weymouth


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 19/10/2016 22:09:34

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page