Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Nature Boy: The Standards Album

Год издания : 2003

Компания звукозаписи : Verve, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Ballads, Torch Songs, Standards, Vocal Jazz

Время звучания : 49:15

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Man Voice)      

Aaron Neville's voice exists in that rarefied air occupied by only the most lyrical musicians, including Paul Desmond's alto saxophone and Miles Davis' muted trumpet. Sweet and throaty, reedy and always crying, it's capable of bewitching anyone within hailing distance - including, in some cases, the singer himself. Nature Boy: The Standards Album, his first record for Verve, is naturally a jazz/vocal date; Neville tackled a dozen songs from the popular songbook, with accompaniment from a backing trio comprised of pianist (and arranger/conductor) Rob Mounsey, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Grady Tate (plus one or two appearances each from Roy Hargrove on trumpet, Ry Cooder on guitar, and Ray Anderson on trombone). Though he has never recorded an album of pre-rock standards before, over the four decades of his career Neville has gained a deep familiarity with songs of this weight - "Summertime," "Our Love Is Here to Stay," "In the Still of the Night," and "Cry Me a River." Understanding their power, he treats them with the utmost respect, a measure of feeling and devotion that causes him to always meet expectations but, unfortunately, never exceed them. Any Aaron Neville fan will know exactly what to expect from his version of "Summertime" or "Nature Boy" or even "Danny Boy," and Neville never displays the focused interaction between song and singer that's necessary to pull off a standard with decades of baggage attached. On several tracks, he does approach deserving the lofty term of jazz singer; he and Linda Ronstadt use their shared affection to anchor "The Very Thought of You," and the burly singer goes along for a splendid ride when the band adds a delicious hint of suspense into "The Shadow of Your Smile" (Neville's voice usually sounds better on darker material, lending a chill as when the sun passes behind a cloud). The American songbook should belong to him, an exceptional vocalist with such a deeply rooted performing persona, but it will do so only when he recognizes that the singer should never humble himself before the song.

- John Bush (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Anahid Ajemian (Violin)
Ann Leathers (Violin)
Anthony Wilson (Guitar)
Birch Johnson (Trombone)
Carol Webb (Violin)
Catherine Livolsi (Violin)
Cenovia Cummins (Violin)
Charles Neville (Tenor Saxophone)
Crystal Garner (Viola)
Dave Bargeron (Trombone)
David Tofani (Flute, Tenor Saxophone)
Dennis Anderson (Flute)
Diane Barere (Cello)
Donna Tecco (Violin)
Elena Barere (Violin)
Emily Mitchell (Harpsichord)
Gil Goldstein (Accordion)
Grady Tate (Drums)
Jan Mullen (Violin)
Jeanne LeBlanc (Cello)
Jill Jaffe (Viola)
Julien Barber (Viola)
Juliet Haffner (Viola)
Lawrence Feldman (Flute, Tenor Saxophone)
Linda Ronstadt (Vocals)
Marti Sweet (Violin)
Masako Yanagita (Violin)
Maura Gianini (Violin)
Michael Brecker (Tenor Saxophone)
Randy Brecker (Flugelhorn)
Ray Anderson (Trombone)
Richard Locker (Cello)
Richard Sortomme (Violin)
Rob Mounsey (Organ, Percussion, Piano, Keyboards, Vocals)
Ron Carter (Bass)
Ronnie Cuber (Clarinet, Baritone Saxophone)
Roy Hargrove (Trumpet, Flugelhorn)
Ry Cooder (Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar)
Vince Lionti (Viola)
Yana Goichman (Violin)
Yuri Vodovoz (Violin)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Summertime     T       0:03:42 Gershwin / Gershwin / Gershwin
   2 Blame It On My Youth         0:04:11 Heyman / Levant
   3 The Very Thought Of You     T       0:04:30 Neville / Linda Ronstadt
   4 The Shadow Of Your Smile     T       0:03:38 Mandel / Webster
   5 Cry Me A River         0:04:33 Hamilton
   6 Nature Boy         0:02:43 Ahbez
   7 Who Will Buy?         0:04:19 Bart
   8 Come Rain Or Come Shine     T       0:04:58 Arlen / Mercer
   9 Our Love Is Here To Stay     T       0:04:13 Gershwin / Gershwin
   10 In The Still Of The Night     T       0:04:51 Porter
   11 Since I Fell For You     T       0:05:09 Johnson
   12 Danny Boy         0:02:29 Weatherly


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 19/10/2016 22:09:00

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page