Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Worlds Beyond Faust

Год издания : 2009

Компания звукозаписи : Col Legno

Музыкальный стиль : Jazz, Chamber Music

Время звучания : 1:08:42

Код CD : WWE 1CD 20272

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Classics (Modern Classics)      

Recording Date: May 15, 2003

Swiss composer and performer Daniel Schnyder has established careers in the worlds of classical music and jazz, but he has perhaps made the largest impact in the area where the two overlap, and that is the realm this album, Worlds Beyond Faust, inhabits. Its centerpiece is Schnyder's score for Friedrich Murnau's classic 50-minute silent film, Faust, made in 1926. The ensemble Schnyder founded in 1996, Words Within Music, with the composer playing flute and saxophones, with bass trombonist David Taylor and pianist Kenny Drew, Jr., performs the score. Schnyder skillfully draws on jazz traditions, the melodramatic conventions associated with stereotypical music for silent film, extended instrumental techniques, and artfully chosen selections from the classical repertoire, including music by Handel, Weber, Busoni, Liszt, Wagner, Schubert, Mahler, and Richard Strauss. He manages to meld these disparate elements into a soundtrack that sounds like it would be a fabulous accompaniment for the film's visuals, but that is also musically coherent and compelling and satisfying as a purely aural experience. The album is filled with the five-movement suite Worlds Beyond, which is most strongly influenced by jazz. The performances are stellar, with each performer playing with expressive freedom and complete technical assurance, moving effortlessly between Schnyder's flexibly morphing idioms. Col Legno's sound is clear and well defined, with a warm presence. Highly recommended for fans of the sophisticated cross pollination of jazz and classical traditions.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

David Taylor (Trombone)
Kenny Drew Jr. (Piano)
Words Within Music (Ensemble)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Worlds Beyond         0:05:17 Daniel Schnyder - Worlds Beyond
   2 Blues For Schubert         0:03:59 -"-
   3 Chase         0:01:45 -"-
   4 Afterthought         0:03:33 -"-
   5 We Should Know Better         0:05:02 -"-
   6 Opening Music (based On Flute Sonata Op. 1 No. 2)         0:01:22 Daniel Schnyder - Faust, Soundtrack For Murnau's 1926 Silent Movie
   7 The Alchemist         0:01:46 -"-
   8 Prayer         0:01:51 -"-
   9 Bei Des Zaubrers Hirngebein (based On 'Wolfsschlucht-Szene' From The Opera 'Freischu'tz')         0:02:58 -"-
   10 Seduction Ballad         0:03:15 -"-
   11 Mephisto (based On Ferruccio Busoni's Arrangement Of Franz Liszt's 'Mephisto-Walzer')         0:00:34 -"-
   12 Heimat (based On 'Der Fliegende Holla'nder' Act 1, Scene 3)         0:01:29 -"-
   13 Easter     T       0:02:36 -"-
   14 Death And The Maiden (based On String Quartet No. 14 In D Minor 'Der Tod Und Das Ma'dchen')         0:01:34 -"-
   15 Coming Home     T       0:01:26 -"-
   16 The Temptation Of Margaret         0:04:10 -"-
   17 Love Poison         0:02:05 -"-
   18 Jewels         0:01:48 -"-
   19 Falling In Love         0:04:58 -"-
   20 Mephisto Claims His Victims         0:03:08 -"-
   21 Valentin's Funeral         0:02:07 -"-
   22 Frozen Tears (based On 'Gefrorne Tra'nen From The Lied Cycle 'Winterreise'')         0:01:40 -"-
   23 Kindertotenlied (based On 'Nun Will Die Sonn' So Hell Aufgehen From 'Kindertotenlieder')         0:02:31 -"-
   24 Gretchen At The Stake         0:02:40 -"-
   25 Death And Transfiguration (based On 'Tod Und Verkla'rung')         0:04:00 -"-
   26 Exeunt         0:01:08 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:15:53

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page