Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Smith, Bessie  (Vocals)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   The Essential Bessie Smith

Год издания : 1997

Компания звукозаписи : Legacy, Columbia

Музыкальный стиль : Classic Female Blues, Early Jazz, Trad Jazz, Vaudeville Blues

Время звучания : 1:53:42

К-во CD : 2

Код CD : C2K 64922

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Retro Records)      

Although there are a multitude of box sets chronicling Bessie's entire recorded career, this two-disc, 36-song set sweats it down to the bare essentials in quite an effective manner. Bessie could sing it all, from the lowdown moan of "St. Louis Blues" and "Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out" to her torch treatment of the jazz standard "After You've Gone" to the downright salaciousness of "Need a Little Sugar in My Bowl." Covering a time span from her first recordings in 1923 to her final session in 1933, this is the perfect entry-level set to go with. Utilizing the latest in remastering technology, these recordings have never sounded quite this clear and full, and the selection - collecting her best-known sides and collaborations with jazz giants like Louis Armstrong, Coleman Hawkins, and Benny Goodman - is first-rate. If you've never experienced the genius of Bessie Smith, pick this one up and prepare yourself to be devastated.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Benny Goodman (Clarinet)
Billy Taylor Sr. (Bass)
Bob Escudero (Tuba)
Bobby Johnson (Guitar)
Buck Washington (Piano)
Buddy Christian (Banjo)
Buster Bailey (Clarinet)
Charlie Dixon (Banjo)
Charlie Green (Trombone)
Chu Berry (Tenor Saxophone)
Clarence Williams (Piano)
Coleman Hawkins (Clarinet, Tenor Saxophone)
Cyrus Clair St. (Tuba)
Ed Allen (Cornet)
Eddie Lang (Guitar)
Ernest Elliott (Clarinet)
Fletcher Henderson (Piano)
Floyd Casey (Drums)
Frankie Newton (Trumpet)
Fred Longshaw (Piano, Organ)
Garvin Bushell (Alt Saxophone)
Greely Walton (Tenor Saxophone)
Irving Johns (Piano)
Jack Teagarden (Trombone)
James P. Johnson (Piano)
Jimmy Harrison (Trombone)
Jimmy Jones (Piano)
Joe 'Fox' Smith (Cornet)
June Cole (Tuba)
Lincoln M. Conaway (Guitar)
Louis Armstrong (Cornet)
Louisa Metcalfe (Cornet)
Porter Grainger (Piano)
Robert Robbins (Violin)
Steve Stevens (Piano)
The Bessemer Singers (Vocals)
Tommy Ladnier (Cornet)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 01 Aggravatin' Papa         0:03:19 Addy Britt / J. Russel Robinson / John Robinson / Roy Turk
   1 02 Baby Won't You Please Come Home     T       0:02:57 Charles Warfield / Clarence Williams
   1 03 'Tain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do         0:03:28 Percy Grainger / Robert Prince / Clarence Williams
   1 04 Jail-House Blues         0:03:15 Bessie Smith / Clarence Williams
   1 05 Graveyard Dream Blues         0:02:45 Ida Cox
   1 06 Ticket Agent, Ease Your Window Down         0:03:20 Spencer Williams
   1 07 Boweavil Blues         0:02:53 Lovie Austin / Ma Rainey
   1 08 Weeping Willow Blues         0:03:11 Paul Carter
   1 09 Dying Gambler's Blues         0:02:59 Jack Gee
   1 10 St. Louis Blues     T       0:03:12 W.C. Handy
   1 11 You've Been A Good Ole Wagon         0:03:29 Stuart Balcom / John Henry / Bessie Smith
   1 12 Cake Walkin' Babies (From Home)         0:03:11 Chris Smith / Henry Troy / Clarence Williams
   1 13 Careless Love Blues         0:03:27 W.C. Handy / Martha E. Koenig / Spencer Williams
   1 14 I Ain't Goin' To Play Second Fiddle         0:03:23 Perry Bradford
   1 15 At The Christmas Ball         0:03:26 Fred Longshaw
   1 16 Jazzbo Brown From Memphis Town         0:03:21 George Brooks
   1 17 Backwater Blues         0:03:19 Huddie Ledbetter / Bessie Smith
   1 18 After You've Gone         0:02:56 Henry Creamer / Turner Layton
   2 01 Alexander's Ragtime Band     T       0:03:01 Irving Berlin
   2 02 There'll Be A Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight         0:03:20 Joe Hayden / Theodore Metz
   2 03 Trombone Cholly         0:03:12 George Brooks
   2 04 Send Me To The 'Lectric Chair         0:03:23 -"-
   2 05 A Good Man Is Hard To Find     T       0:03:00 Eddie Green
   2 06 Dyin' By The Hour         0:03:00 George Brooks
   2 07 Me And My Gin         0:02:51 H. Burke / Harry Burke
   2 08 Kitchen Man         0:02:57 Edna B. Pinkard / Andy Razaf
   2 09 Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out     T       0:02:58 James Cox / Jimmie Cox
   2 10 On Revival Day (A Rhythmic Spiritual)         0:02:57 Andy Razaf
   2 11 Moan, You Moaners         0:03:13 Spencer Williams
   2 12 Black Mountain Blues         0:03:09 Hazel Cole / Bessie Smith
   2 13 Shipwreck Blues         0:03:22 Bessie Smith / Spencer Williams
   2 14 Need A Little Sugar In My Bowl         0:02:49 Tim Brymn / Clarence Williams
   2 15 Do Your Duty     T       0:03:26 Wesley Wilson
   2 16 Gimme A Pigfoot (And A Bottle Of Beer)         0:03:31 Coot Grant / Wesley Wilson
   2 17 Take Me For A Buggy Ride         0:02:37 Mezz Mezzrow / Wesley Wilson
   2 18 Down In The Dumps         0:03:09 Lana Wilson / Wesley Wilson


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:15:21

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page