Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Benny's Girls: Goodman's Rare Songbirds

Год издания : 2004

Компания звукозаписи : Collectors' Choice, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Big Band, Sweet Bands, Swing

Время звучания : 1:12:30

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Orchestra - Swing)      

Benny Goodman & His Orchestra

Goodman's Rare Songbirds

While there are scores of compilations reconfiguring Benny Goodman's (clarinet) voluminous catalog, kudos to the two dozen selections that comprise Collectors' Choice Music's aptly-titled Benny's Girls: Goodman's Rare Songbirds (2004). Ever the jazz purist, Goodman purportedly disdained working with vocalists be they male or female. Listeners might have never guessed as his roster boasted the likes of Ethel Waters, Mildred Bailey, Ella Fitzgerald, Bessie Smith and Billie Holiday. The trend began in 1934 when Helen Ward became a regular on his Let's Dance radio show. Another seminal collaborator was the vivacious Anne Graham, whose August '34 recording of "It Happens to the Best of Friends" commences this anthology. After a short stint with Martha Tilton - then wife of Harry James - Louise Tobin filled in for a spell in the late summer and fall of 1939. She can be heard on five cuts, including "Rendezvous Time in Paree," Hoagy Carmichael's "Blue Orchids" and a previously unreleased "Untitled Blues." The early 1940s was a comparatively stable time as Helen Forrest took over from Lady Day in 1938 and stayed until Peggy Lee replaced her in 1941. The collection resumes in 1945 when Lee split to begin her solo career and Goodman was retooling his big band. Here we find a plethora of never before available sides by Jane Harvey ("You Brought a New Kind of Love to Me," "Ev'ry Time (Ev'ry Time I Fall in Love)" and "Two Little Fishes and Five Loaves of Bread"), Kay Penton ("Ain't Misbehavin"), Dottie Reid ("My Head Says Yes but My Heart Says No," "How Little We Knew" and "I'm Gonna Love That Guy"), Liza Morrow ("That's All That Matters to Me," "Fishin' for the Moon" and "Sweet I've Gotten on You") and Eve Young ("That's The Beginning of the End"). Benny's Girls concludes with a pair from one of Goodman's early-'50s discoveries, Nancy Reed on "Then You've Never Been Blue" and "Toodle-Lee-Yoo-Doo."

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Anne Graham (Vocals)
Dottie Reid (Vocals)
Eve Young (Vocals)
Jane Harvey (Vocals)
Kay Penton (Vocals)
Liza Morrow (Vocals)
Louise Tobin (Vocals)
Nancy Reed (Vocals)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 It Happens To The Best Of Friends         0:02:47 Rube Bloom / Mitchell Parish
   2 Rendezvous Time In Paree         0:02:40 Al Dubin / Jimmy McHugh
   3 Untitled Blues         0:03:05 Benny Goodman
   4 Blue Orchids         0:03:16 Hoagy Carmichael
   5 Love Never Went To College         0:02:47 Lorenz Hart / Richard Rodgers
   6 Scatter-Brain         0:02:46 Carl Bean / Johnny Burke / Kahn Keene / Frankie Masters
   7 She's Funny That Way     T       0:03:01 Neil Moret (Chas. N. Daniels) / Richard A. Whiting
   8 You Brought A New Kind Of Love To Me     T       0:02:57 Sammy Fain / Irving Kahal / Peter Norman
   9 Ev'ry Time (Ev'ry Time I Fall In Love)         0:03:16 Gordon Jenkins
   10 Two Little Fishes And Five Loaves Of Bread         0:02:47 Bernie Hanighen
   11 June Is Bustin' Out All Over         0:02:36 Oscar Hammerstein II / Richard Rodgers
   12 Ain't Misbehavin'     T       0:02:53 Harry Brooks / Andy Razaf / Fats Waller
   13 My Head Says Yes But My Heart Says No         0:02:55 Benny Goodman / Edgar Sampson
   14 How Little We Know         0:02:56 Hoagy Carmichael / Johnny Mercer
   15 I'm Gonna Love That Guy (Like He's Never Been Loved Before)         0:03:06 Frances Ash
   16 That's All That Matters To Me         0:03:10 Benny Goodman / Popsy Randolph / Alec Wilder
   17 Fishin' For The Moon         0:03:08 Sol Marcus / Eddie Seiler / Guy Wood
   18 I Wish I Could Tell You         0:03:22 Rube Bloom / Harry Ruby
   19 Sweet I've Gotten On You (The Pennsylvania Dutch Song)         0:03:18 Brad Reynolds / Willard Robison
   20 For You, For Me, For Evermore         0:03:04 George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin
   21 That's The Beginning Of The End         0:03:20 Alex Kramer / Joan Whitney
   22 Man Here Plays Fine Piano         0:03:08 Joe Bushkin
   23 Then You've Never Been Blue         0:03:24 Sam M. Lewis / Ted Fio Rito / Joe Young
   24 Toodle-Lee-Yoo-Doo         0:02:48  


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:15:20

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page