Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Slowing Down The World

Год издания : 1999

Компания звукозаписи : Verve Forecast, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Smooth Jazz, Crossover Jazz, Contemporary Jazz

Время звучания : 49:37

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Trumpet - Smooth)      

Those who heard Chris Botti playing live in the 1990s realized just how much he had going for him as a trumpeter - not only an appealing sound (sort of a combination of Miles Davis, Chet Baker, Art Farmer and Chuck Mangione) and sizable chops, but also a lot of warmth and charisma. Botti's studio recordings, meanwhile, were decent, even though they fell short of his potential. Like his previous efforts, Botti's third album, Slowing Down the World, consists primarily of mellow, light pop-jazz designed for the NAC audience. This is unchallenging music, and yet it would be a major mistake to lump it in with the outright elevator muzak that Kenny G, Dave Koz, Najee and Richard Elliot were known for. Caressing instrumentals like "Why Not" and "Irresistible Bliss" definitely fall into the easy listening category, but they're more soulful, honest and substantial than a lot of 1990s NAC fare. Although dominated by instrumentals, this CD offers a few vocals - Sting has a pleasant, if unremarkable, spot on "In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning," while Botti himself provides an unexpected vocal on Randy Newman's "Same Girl." Clearly, Botti's singing owes as much to Baker as his trumpet playing - like Baker, Botti doesn't have much of a voice, but is nonetheless expressive and intimate. Slowing Down the World is a pleasant collection of mood music, but make no mistake - Botti is capable of a lot more.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Alex Acuna (Percussion)
Harvey Jones (Keyboards)
Jeff Lorber (Piano)
Joe Bonadio (Percussion)
John Robinson (Drums)
Jon Ossman (Bass)
Larry Saltzman (Guitar)
Marc Shulman (Guitar)
Michael Davis (Trombone)
Peter Erskine (Drums)
Shane Fontayne (Guitar)
Tim Pierce (Guitar)
Tony Levin (Bass)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Irresistible Bliss         0:05:00 Botti
   2 The Look         0:04:22 -"-
   3 Drive Time         0:05:33 -"-
   4 In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning     T       0:04:28 Hillard / Mann
   5 The Open Touch         0:06:00 Botti
   6 Under A Painted Sky         0:04:13 -"-
   7 Why Not         0:03:39 -"-
   8 The Place Between Us         0:04:38 -"-
   9 Same Girl         0:03:44 Newman
   10 Where I'm Calling From         0:05:50 Botti / Klein
   11 Letting Go         0:02:09 Dudley


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:03:35

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page