Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Bennett, Tony  (Vocals)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Perfectly Frank

Год издания : 1992/2001

Компания звукозаписи : Азбука Звука, Columbia, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop, Ballads

Время звучания : 1:14:35

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Pop (Ballads)      

1992 (release) inprint

Perfectly Frank is just that - a group of covers that came to define Frank Sinatra as a vocal legend. Here, Tony Bennett pays homage to "the Voice" in a way only he can. This massive, 24-track compilation runs through the list of standards that made Sinatra legendary. "Night and Day," "East of the Sun (West of the Moon)," and "The Lady Is a Tramp" are just a few of the tracks that Bennett has managed to bring to life just as beautifully as Sinatra did so many years ago. Backed by his standard group, the Ralph Sharon Trio, he manages to make this collection more and more his own. Instead of simply covering the songs, or trying to emulate Sinatra, Bennett adds his personal touch to each song. This is a tribut to the music, as well as to Sinatra.

All Music Guide

========= from the cover ==========

The date is October 13,1974. My mom, tragically bedridden, had her entire family around her. We were praying, doing everything to lift her spirits. Her only entertainment was watching television, so we were anxiously tuned in to a music special called "The Main Event." The performer was Sinatra, "The Champ," at Madison Square Garden. We were so enthralled with his performance. Suddenly, in-between two marvelous songs, he belts out that I'm his favorite singer. Taken by surprise, I looked over al my mom. Her eyes opened almost as big as her heart. It was one of the great moments of my life. I'll never forget what he did for me that day. It will remain one of the greatest moments of my life.

There is a warm side to Sinatra that has never been played up properly. Being "on the inside of show business," I can't begin to tell you how many human stories I've heard about the silent Sinatra. Highly philanthropic, he downplays the thousands of worthwhile benefits he has done over the years. As a private man with a profound sense of loyalty to his friends, he never touts the generosity he has shown to those he loves. That's the man!

Now, the artist! In his day, Michelangelo was considered a stonecutter. Today, we all stand in awe of his perfection. With Sinatra, there is that same quality that will endure and be hard to top. Even though Sinatra's creative premise was popular entertainment, he never compromised on any of his recordings. Hundreds of years from now, these records will sound as fresh as they do today. His ability to communicate so strongly has hauled him to the top of the heap. Dedication to his craft has earned him the title, "King of the Entertainment World" - a position well deserved.

The United States is the youngest and most vital empire in existence. I believe popular entertainment is in and of itself an American art form. Above anyone else, Sinatra as a performer has contributed the highest level of excellence. He has given us all a legacy to aspire to and a standard to live by.

  Соисполнители :

Joe LaBarbera (Drums)
Paul Langosch (Bass)
Ralph Sharon (Piano)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Time After Time     T       0:03:35 Cahn / Styne
   2 I Fall In Love Too Easily     T       0:02:03 -"-
   3 East Of The Sun     T       0:04:14 'And West Of The Moon' - Brooks Bowman
   4 Nancy     T       0:03:17 Silvers / Van Heusen
   5 I Thought About You     T       0:02:58 Jimmy Van Heusen / Johnny Mercer
   6 Night And Day     T       0:03:37 Cole Porter
   7 I've Got The World On A String     T       0:02:54 Arlen / Koehler
   8 I'm Glad There Is You     T       0:03:17 Dorsey / Madeira
   9 A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square     T       0:02:58 Maschwitz / Sherwin
   10 I Wished On The Moon     T       0:03:10 Parker / Perker / Ranger
   11 You Go To My Head     T       0:03:48 Coots / Gillespie
   12 The Lady Is A Tramp     T       0:02:27 Hart / Rodgers
   13 I Soo Your Face Before Me         0:03:01 Dietz / Schwartz
   14 Day In - Day Ou     T       0:02:09 Bloom / Mercer
   15 Indian Summer     T       0:03:02 Dubin / Herbert
   16 Call Me Irresponsible     T       0:03:27 Cahn / Van Heusen
   17 Here's That Rainy Day     T       0:03:33 Burke / Van Heusen
   18 Last Night When We Were Young     T       0:02:28 Arlen / Harburg
   19 I Wish I Were In Love Again     T       0:02:17 Hart / Rodgers
   20 A Foggy Day     T       0:02:14 Gershwin / Gershwin
   21 Don't Worrry 'Bout Me         0:04:56 Bloom / Koehler
   22 One For My Baby     T       0:03:27 And One More For The...
   23 Angel Eyes     T       0:02:45 Brent / Dennis
   24 I'll Be Seeing You     T       0:02:58 Kahal


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:03:31

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page