Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   Brown, James  (Vocals)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Messing With The Blues

Год издания : 1991

Компания звукозаписи : Polydor Ltd., Ars Nova, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : R&B

Время звучания : 1:50:21

К-во CD : 2

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Blues (Man Voice)      

Recorded 1957-1985

Compilation produced by Harry Weinger & Cliff White

Although he is most famous for his innovations in soul and funk music, James Brown never lost sight of his blues and R&B roots. His albums often placed surprisingly rootsy covers of old chestnuts alongside his groundbreaking polyrhythmic workouts. This double CD compiles thirty of the bluesiest items from his vast recorded legacy. Cut between 1957 and 1985, most of the tracks actually date from the '60s; many of these, in turn, were laid down in the early part of the decade, when J.B. was gradually evolving from his more conventional beginnings. The artists whose songs are covered here read like a Who's Who of R&B pioneers: Louis Jordan, Roy Brown, Memphis Slim, Ivory Joe Hunter, Fats Domino, Chuck Willis, Little Willie John, Billy Ward, Guitar Slim, and Bobby Bland. It's quite an instructive insight into Brown's not-always-visible roots. It would be fair to say that this does not rank among his most exciting material, finding him in a smoother and more conventional style than his most innovative work. It is nonetheless always entertaining and accomplished, with Brown's love for this material shining through strongly in his committed interpretations. Especially intriguing are an 11-minute cover of Chuck Willis' "Don't Deceive Me" and a two-part, blues-based rap vamp from the early '70s, "Like It Is, Like It Was (The Blues)." The disc includes several unreleased cuts, alternate takes, and unedited versions of previously released songs.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Соисполнители не найдены

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 01 Like It Is, Like It Was         0:04:57 'The Blues'
   1 02 Don't Cry, Baby         0:03:01 Stella Unger / James P. Johnson / Saul Bernie
   1 03 Caldonia         0:02:55 Version 1
   1 04 Somebody Done Changed The Lock On My Door         0:03:39 William Weldon
   1 05 Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens         0:02:59 Alex C. Krammer / Joan Whitney
   1 06 Good Rockin' Tonight         0:02:38 Roy Brown
   1 07 I Love You, Yes I Do         0:02:47 Henry Glover 'Sally Nix'
   1 08 Messing With The Blues         0:02:13 Floyd Hunt
   1 09 Waiting In Vain     T       0:02:48 Ivory Joe Hunter
   1 10 For You, My Love         0:02:18 Paul Gayten
   1 11 Blues For My Baby         0:03:02 Theodore Reig / Billy Wright
   1 12 Everyday I Have The Blues     T       0:04:30 Peter Chatman
   1 13 Love Don't Love Nobody         0:00:49 False Start - Dialogue With Syd Nathan - King Records President
   1 14 Love Don't Love Nobody         0:02:04 Roy Brown
   1 15 Goin' Home         0:05:04 Antoine Domino / Al Young
   1 16 Have Mercy Baby         0:02:14 Billy Ward
   1 17 Kansas City         0:03:25 '67 - Jerry Lieber / Mike Stoller
   1 18 The Bells         0:03:37 Billy Ward
   2 01 Don't Deceive Me         0:11:43 'Please Dont't Go' - Chuck Wills
   2 02 The Things That I Used To Do     T       0:02:49 Eddie Jones
   2 03 Need Your Love So Bad         0:03:27 Mertis John, Jr.
   2 04 Like A Baby     T       0:02:54 Jesse A. Stone
   2 05 Honk Tonk         0:06:10 Part 1 - Billy Butler / Bill Doggett / Clifford Scott / Shepherd Shep
   2 06 Suffering With The Blues         0:03:05 Lloyd Pemberton / Teddy Conyers
   2 07 Further On Up The Road     T       0:03:46 Joe Medwich Vasely / Don D. Robey
   2 08 Radio Spot         0:01:05  
   2 09 Talk To Me, Talk To Me         0:03:28 Joe Seneca
   2 10 Kansas City         0:07:48 '75 - Jerry Lieber / Mike Stoller
   2 11 Wonder When You're Coming Home         0:02:34 James Brown
   2 12 Like It Is, Like It Was         0:06:31 'The Blues' Continued... - James Brown


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:03:29

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page