Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Adderley And Strings. Jump For You

Год издания : 1995

Компания звукозаписи : Verve, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Hard Bop

Время звучания : 1:07:58

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Saxophone - Bop)      

2 LP on 1 CD Adderley And Strings

1. Adderley And Strings (probuced by Bob Shad) 1955

2. Jump For You (produced by Jack Tracy) 1958

arranged by Bill Russo. plays the score from Duke Ellington

This CD reissues two complete LPs from near the beginning of altoist Cannonball Adderley's career. The first session is quite unusual for Adderley (who was completely unknown just a few months earlier) was given a very early opportunity to record with strings. He sounds fine on 11 standards and Terry Gibbs's "Lonely Dreams" but mostly sticks near the melody while Richard Hayman's Orchestra sounds rather anonymous. The 1958 sessions finds him performing ten songs from the early-'40s Duke Ellington show Jump for Joy (including "Just Squeeze Me," "I Got It Bad" and "Jump for Joy") while accompanied by a string quartet, a rhythm section and trumpeter Emmett Berry; Bill Russo provided the generally stimulating arrangements. The formerly rare music on this CD is enjoyable but not as essential as Adderley's slightly later Riverside albums.

## 1-12 "Cannonball Adderley and Strings" 1955

The "and Strings" album is one of the biggest cliches of '50s jazz. The idea of taking a prominent jazz soloist and placing him in an orchestral context usually doesn't work as jazz and often doesn't cut it as mood music, either. Julian Cannonball Adderley and Strings suffers a bit in terms of song selection - "Surrey With a Fringe on Top" and "Polka Dots and Moonbeams (Around a Pug-Nosed Dream)" are a little on the corny side - but Adderley himself plays beautifully, showing off his typically excellent soloing throughout, and Bill Russo's orchestral arrangements are less invasive than similar arrangements for other "and Strings" albums, more Gil Evans than Mantovani. The opening "I Cover the Waterfront" is a stellar kickoff, a smoky ballad perfect for Adderley's soulful style, but barring a few minor missteps, all of Julian Cannonball Adderley and Strings is well worth hearing.

All Music Guide

## 13- 22 "Jump For You" (EmArcy) 1958

Something of a companion album to the earlier Julian Cannonball Adderley and Strings, Jump for Joy sounds like it could be outtakes from the same sessions in terms of its orchestral-quality arrangements, but this is very much its own album. Jump for Joy is Adderley's reinterpretation, circa 1958, of a Duke Ellington stage musical from 1941. A minor artifact in the Duke's long career, Jump for Joy is nonetheless a marvel, a response to Porgy and Bess that Ellington thought was a more accurate portrayal of African-American life. Adderley and arranger Bill Russo update the tunes into the then-current post-bop jazz vernacular but otherwise leave them alone for the simple reason that they don't need any embellishment. Hearing Adderley's often thrilling, always well-constructed alto sax improvisations over tunes like the standard "I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good" is reason enough for the album to exist, and although Russo's orchestral flourishes occasionally threaten to overwhelm the soloist (especially on the closing "The Tune of the Hickory Stick"), they're always at the very least charming examples of '50s jazz-pop arrangements.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Barry Galbraith (Guitar)
Bill Evans (Piano)
Emmett Berry (Trumpet)
Jimmy Cobb (Drums)
Milt Hinton (Bass)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 I Cover The Waterfront          0:02:29 J. Green / E. Heyman
   2 A Foggy Day          0:02:44 G. Gershwin / I. Gershwin
   3 The Surrey With The Fringe On Top         0:02:34 Rodgers / Hammerstein II
   4 Two Sleepy People          0:03:04 Carmichael / Loesser
   5 I'll Never Stop Loving You         0:02:44 Nicholas Brodszky / Sammy Cahn
   6 The Masquerade Is Over          0:03:14 'I'm Afraid' - Herb Magidson / Allie Wrubel
   7 I've Never Been In Love Before         0:02:22 Frank Loesser
   8 Lonely Dreams         0:02:32 Julius Gubenko Aka Terry Gibbs
   9 Falling In Love With Love         0:02:35 Richard Rodgers / Lorenz Hart
   10 Street Of Dreams         0:02:16 Victor Young / Sam Lewis
   11 Polka Dots And Moonbeams         0:03:07 James Van Heusen / John Burke
   12 You Are Too Beautiful         0:02:58 Richard Rodgers / Lorenz Hart
   13 Two Left Feet         0:03:15 Paul Francis Webster / Hal Borne
second LP
   14 Just Squeeze Me          0:03:19 'But Don't Tease Me' - Ellington / Lee Gaines
   15 I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good          0:02:39 Ellington / Kuller / Webster
   16 Nothin'         0:04:36 Kuller / Golden / Webster
   17 Jump For Joy         0:03:23 Ellington / Kuller / Webster
   18 Bli-Blip          0:03:51 Sid Kuller / Ellington
   19 Chocolate Shake         0:02:43 Ellington / Webster
   20 If Life Were All Peaches And Cream         0:05:17 Webster / Borne
   21 Brown-skin Gal         0:02:52 'In The Calico Gown' - Ellington / Webster
   22 The Tune Of The Hickory Stick         0:03:24 Webster / Borne


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:03:17

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page