Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Lights In The Dark

Год издания : 1998

Компания звукозаписи : Elektra, Asylum, Ars Nova, (ru)

Время звучания : 54:42

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : New Age (New Wave)      

With Lights in the Dark, Hector Zazou set out to create accessible versions of the ominous, sacred music of Ireland. Utilizing a talented cast of vocalists, Breda Mayock, Katie McMahon, and Lasairfhiona Ni Chonaola, Zazou keeps the music relatively quiet. Shimmering bells, plaintive flutes, and Mark Isham's mournful trumpet serve mostly as background noises to the passionate, female vocals. There are moments of great power, such as "Song of the Passion" and "In the Name of the Father May We Gain Victory," and other songs where there's just a few too many hallelujahs for most modern listeners. The title of the album is telling. The vocals are the lights in the dark (the music). The traditional songs are made quite scary, when Zazou isn't taking new age tangents. "Kenning of the Three Marys" sounds downright scary, though its subject matter deals with Christian themes. Most of the songs deal with the Virgin Mary in some respect, but many listeners won't know, since all of the vocals are Gaelic. Fans of Zazou's more gothic Dead Can Dance-like work won't be as interested in this as they were with Zazou's far more accessible earlier albums. Lights in the Dark is nearly overwhelming in its mysterious atmosphere, but there are ample rewards for patient listeners.

- Tim DiGravina (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Breda Mayock (Vocals, Background Vocals)
Brendan Perry (Vocals, Background Vocals)
Carlos Nunez (Ocarina)
Caroline LaVelle (Cello)
Daniel Yvinec (Bass)
Jacques Pellen (Guitar)
Katie McMahon (Vocals, Background Vocals)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 An Rгealt (The Star)         0:04:27 Zazou
   2 Seacht Suailce Na Maighdine Muire (Seven Joys Of The Virgin Mary)         0:03:34 -"-
   3 Dan Nar Marbh (Song Of The Dead )         0:03:09 -"-
   4 Caoineadh Na Dtri Muire (Keening Of The Three Marys)         0:04:10 -"-
   5 Seacht Suailce Na Maighdine Muire (Seven Joys Of The Virgin Mary)         0:03:56 -"-
   6 Gol Na Dtri Muire (Lament Of The Three Marys)         0:04:24 -"-
   7 Amhran Na Paise (Song Of The Passion )         0:05:07 -"-
   8 In Ainm An Athar Le Bua (In The Name Of The Father May We Have Victory)         0:03:29 -"-
   9 Seacht Ndoi As Na Maighdine Muire (Seven Sorrows Of The Virgin Mary)         0:07:37 -"-
   10 Duan Chroгi Iosa (Little Song To The Heart Of Jesus)         0:03:26 -"-
   11 Caoine Mhuire (Mary's Lament)         0:05:38 -"-
   12 Achaini An Ghra (Requests Of Love)         0:03:16 -"-
   13 Amergin (Tomb Of Every Hope)         0:02:27 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:04:43

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page