Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Liege & Lief

Год издания : 1968/1969

Компания звукозаписи : Island, Universal Int., (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : British Folk-Rock, Progressive Folk

Время звучания : 40:47

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Rock (Album Rock)      

Derek And The Dominos

For their fourth album, Fairport Convention released what is regarded by many as not only the best record in their history but also one of the seminal English folk-rock albums of all time. This was also the album that marked the transformation of the group from, essentially, a rock band that utilized folk music (in tandem with modern singer/songwriter material) as a source for part of their sound, and an inspiration for their own songwriting, into a group specializing in reinterpreting traditional English songs. There's only one original number here, the soaring "Come All Ye," the rest being adaptations of old English folk songs; at the time, however, very few groups were doing this with any success, or mixing acoustic and electric sounds quite as adeptly, with the result that Liege and Lief was practically a consciousness-raising album for a lot of listeners. "Farewell Farewell," "Matty Groves," "Reynardine," and "Tam-Lin" were highlights of an LP filled with gems in this style, ornamented with gorgeous harmonies and striking instrumental virtuosity. Sadly, this lineup was in the process of splitting up virtually as the record was being made - after Sandy Denny's and Ashley Hutchings' exits, it would be remembered with a tone of nostalgia that was somewhat unfair to the equally impressive lineup that followed. The CD edition of Liege and Lief is decent, although, as with almost any A&M CD release dating before the end of the 1990s, the album could use a 24-bit remastering one of these days.

- Bruce Eder (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Ashley Hutchings (Bass Guitar)
Dave Mattacks (Drums)
Dave Swarbrick (Violin, Viola)
Sandy Denny (Vocals)
Simon Nicol (Guitar)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Come All Ye         0:05:01 Denny / Hutchings / Sandy
   2 Reynardine         0:04:34 Traditional
   3 Matty Groves         0:08:10 -"-
   4 Farewell, Farewell         0:02:39 Thompson
   5 The Deserter         0:04:24 Traditional
   6 Medley: The Lark In The Morning / Rakish...         0:04:08 -"-
   7 Tam Lin         0:07:13 -"-
   8 Crazy Man Michael         0:04:37 Swarbrick / Thompson


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:04:25

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page