Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   The Chieftains  (Group)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   The Wide World Over

Год издания : 2002

Компания звукозаписи : RCA, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Folk

Время звучания : 1:11:14

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Pseudo Ethnic (Celtic)      

A 40 Year Celebration

In the Chieftains' four decades of recording, they've changed labels a handful of times, and each label has seen fit to record at least one or two collections of the band's output under their tenure. At this point they have so many best-ofs and greatest-hits compilations, it's tough for the listener to know the best of what they're actually hearing. New millennium - new collection: the band's longtime label, RCA Victor, has done the Celtic community a favor by releasing a collection that deals more with the band's journey through their different phases as opposed to trying to reassemble a hits package. The end result is almost like listening to a radio station that only plays Chieftains songs. There are some live tracks, their countrified romp through "Cotton-Eyed Joe"; Van Morrison's adult-contemporary "Shenandoah"; an unusual introduction of the bandmembers in Chinese; appearances from Sting, Diana Krall, and Art Garfunkel; and a couple of new recordings. The breezy cover of "Morning Has Broken" fares better than the hybridized "Redemption Song" (in fact, it's a challenge to think of any instances of a successful Celtic/reggae alloy). The album will be enjoyed by Chieftains fans as a fun collection of songs they have never heard back-to-back before, and those looking for a greatest-hits collection will have plenty of other places to look.

- Zac Johnson (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Derek Bell (Harpsichord, Keyboards)
Diana Krall (Vocals)
Elvis Costello (Vocals)
Joni Mitchell (Guitar, Vocals)
Kevin Conneff (Vocals)
Matt Molloy (Flute, Arranger)
Ricky Skaggs (Guitar, Mandolin, Vocals)
Ry Cooder (Guitar)
Sharon Riley (Vocals)
Sinead O'Connor (Vocals)
Van Morrison (Arranger, Vocals)
Ziggy Marley (Guitar, Percussion, Vocals)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 March Of The King Of Laois         0:04:23 Traditional With Laois
   2 The Foggy Dew         0:05:00 Traditional With Sinead O'Connor
   3 I Know My Love         0:03:25 Traditional With The Corrs
   4 Cotton-Eyed Joe         0:02:46 Traditional With Ricky Skaggs
   5 The Magdalene Laundries         0:04:56 Mitchell With Joni Mitchell
   6 Live From Matt Molloy's Pub         0:02:20 Traditional
   7 Shenandoah         0:03:52 Traditional With Van Morrison
   8 The Munster Cloak         0:06:12 Traditional / Traditional
   9 Morning Has Broken         0:02:55 Traditional With Diana Krall & Art Garfunkel
   10 Morning Dew     T       0:02:58 From 'Barry Lyndon' - Women Of
   11 Mo Ghile Mear         0:03:20 Traditional With Sting
   12 Carolan's Concerto         0:03:01 Traditional With The Belfast Harp Orchestra
   13 Guadalupe         0:03:31 Traditional With Linda Ronstad & Los Lobos
   14 Full Of Joy         0:03:23 Traditional With Chinese Ensemble
   15 Here's A Health To The Company         0:03:03 Traditional
   16 Chasing The Fox         0:04:10 Traditional With Erich Kunzel
   17 Long Journey Home         0:03:20 Anthem With Elvis Costello & Anuna
   18 The Rocky Road To Dublin         0:04:18 Traditional With Rolling Stones
   19 Redemption Song     T       0:04:23 Marley With Ziggy Marley


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:04:12

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page