Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
   The Byrds  (Group)
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :
   Turn! Turn! Turn!. Younger Than Yesterday

Год издания : 1965/1967

Компания звукозаписи : Columbia, Legacy, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Album Rock

Время звучания : 1:18:06

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Rock (Psychedelic)      

2 LP on 1 CD

## 1 -11, 'Turn! Turn! Turn!', (4.5*), Columbia/Legac,1965

The group's second album was only a disappointment in comparison with Mr. Tambourine Man. They couldn't maintain such a level of consistent magnificence, and the follow-up was not quite as powerful or impressive. It was still quite good, however, particularly the ringing number one title cut, a classic on par with the "Mr. Tambourine Man" single. Elsewhere they concentrated more on original material, Gene Clark in particular offering some strong compositions with "Set You Free This Time," "The World Turns All Around Her," and "If You're Gone." A couple more Dylan covers were included as well, and "Satisfied Mind" was their first foray into country-rock, a direction they would explore in much greater depth throughout the rest of the '60s. The CD adds seven decent alternate takes and bonus tracks, the most interesting being a version of Dylan's "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue," and an enigmatic Gene Clark song, "The Day Walk (Never Before)."

- Richie Unterberger (All Music Guide)

## 12-22, 'Younger than Yesterday', (5*), Columbia/Legac, 1967

Younger than Yesterday was somewhat overlooked at the time of its release during an intensely competitive era that found the Byrds on a commercial downslide. However, time has shown it to be the most durable of the Byrds' albums, with the exception of Mr. Tambourine Man. Crosby, McGuinn, and especially Hillman come into their own as songwriters on an eclectic but focused set blending folk-rock, psychedelia, and early country-rock. The sardonic "So You Want to Be a Rock 'n' Roll Star" was a terrific single; "My Back Pages," also a small hit, was the last of their classic Dylan covers; "Thoughts and Words," the flower-power anthem "Renaissance Fair," "Have You Seen Her Face," and the bluegrass-tinged "Time Between" are all among their best songs. The jazzy "Everybody's Been Burned" may be David Crosby's best composition, although his "Mind Gardens" is one of his most excessive. The CD reissue has six bonus tracks, including the fine Crosby-penned single "Lady Friend" and notably different alternate versions of "Mind Gardens" and "My Back Pages."

- Richie Unterberger (All Music Guide)

## 23 - 28 Bonus track

  Соисполнители :

Chris Hillman (Bass, Mandolin, Guitar, Vocals)
Clarence White (Guitar)
David Crosby (Guitar, Vocals)
Gene Clark (Guitar, Tambourine, Vocals)
Hugh Masekela (Trumpet, Horn)
Michael Clarke (Drums)
Roger McGuinn (Banjo, Guitar, Vocals)
Vern Gosdin (Guitar)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Turn! Turn! Turn!     T       0:03:54 To Everything There Is...
   2 It Won't Be Wrong     T       0:02:02 Gerst / McGuinn
   3 Set You Free This Time     T       0:02:53 Clark
   4 Lay Down Your Weary Tune     T       0:03:34 Dylan
   5 He Was A Friend Of Mine     T       0:02:34 McGuinn / Traditional
   6 The World Turns All Around Her     T       0:02:17 Clark / Clark
   7 Satisfied Mind     T       0:02:30 Rhodes
   8 If You're Gone     T       0:02:49  
   9 Times They Are A-Changin     T       0:02:22  
   10 Wait And See     T       0:02:23  
   11 Oh! Susannah     T       0:03:13  
   12 So You Want To Be A Rock & Roll Star     T       0:02:10 Hillman / McGuinn
   13 Have You Seen Her Face     T       0:02:44 Hillman
   14 C.T.A.         0:02:32  
   15 Renaissance Fair     T       0:01:55 Crosby / McGuinn
   16 Time Between     T       0:01:57 Hillman
   17 Everybody's Been Burned     T       0:03:09 Crosby
   18 Thoughts And Words     T       0:03:00  
   19 Mind Gardens     T       0:03:50  
   20 My Back Pages     T       0:03:12 Dylan
   21 The Girl With No Name     T       0:01:54 Hillman
   22 Why?     T       0:02:55 Crosby
   23 It Heppes Each Day     T       0:02:48  
   24 Don't Make Waves     T       0:01:41  
   25 My Back Pages     T       0:02:46  
   26 Mind Gardens     T       0:03:22  
   27 Lady Friend     T       0:02:34  
   28 Old John Robertson     T       0:05:05  


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:04:05

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page