Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :

Год издания : 1999

Компания звукозаписи : Elektra Entertainment, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Fusion, Crossover Jazz

Время звучания : 47:30

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Saxophone)      

Recorded at Camel Island Studios, Los Angeles, California; Avatar Studios, Sound On Sound, Hiatus Studio, and Electric Lady Studios, New York, New York.

INSIDE won the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Jazz Performance.

With smooth strokes, Sanborn has painted a lovely urban jazz landscape on INSIDE. These cuts may have an easy-rolling feel, but they're surely not dental office fare. Soft, breezy vocal and alto melodies meet rough beats and mean bass lines, making for statements with a real earthiness. Sanborn and multi-instrumentalist Marcus Miller penned most of the tunes, with a couple of pop covers thrown in for funk's sake.

The opener "Corners (For Herbie)," presumably a tribute to Mr. Hancock, is a slow, groovy Fender Rhodes-laden affair, with Don Alias' colorful percussion, and glad blowing by Sanborn and guest Michael Brecker. Aretha Franklin's "Daydreaming" veers into a trippy sort of "rare groove" territory, with diva Cassandra Wilson singing over a backdrop of undulating electric piano, steel guitar and sitar. "Brother Ray" is a blues jam reminiscent of Stevie Ray Vaughan's jazzier flights. The horn passages are made lush by the double-tenor presence, swaying over Ricky Peterson's Hammond B-3 and Miller's twangy blues guitar work. With an urgent vocal performance by Sting, Bill Withers' classic "Ain't No Sunshine" takes on an almost mystical quality, with entrancing long-tone spirals and wafts of Bill Frisell's guitar.

All Music Guide

  Соисполнители :

Bill Frisell (Guitar)
Cassandra Wilson (Vocals)
David Alias (Percussion)
Fender Rhodes (Piano)
Marcus Miller (Bass, Drums)
Marvin Sewell (Guitar)
Michael Brecker (Tenor Saxophone)
Ricky Peterson (Organ)
Wallace Roney (Trumpet)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 Corners         0:04:49 For Herbie - Marcus Miller
   2 Daydreaming         0:05:36 Aretha Franklin Arranged By Marcus Miller
   3 Trance         0:05:02 Marcus Miller
   4 Brother Ray         0:05:57 -"-
   5 Lisa         0:04:33 David Sanborn
   6 When I'm With You         0:04:58 Marcus Miller
   7 Naked Moon         0:05:42 -"-
   8 Cane         0:00:45 Me'shell Ndegeocello
   9 Ain't No Sunshine     T       0:04:12 Bill Withers
   10 Miss You     T       0:05:56 David Sanborn Arranged By Gil Goldstein


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:04:03

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page