Описание CD

вернуться        закрыть окно  


  Исполнитель(и) :
◄◄◄        ►►►

  Наименование CD :

Год издания : 1994

Компания звукозаписи : Verve Forecast, (ru)

Музыкальный стиль : Crossover Jazz, Instrumental Pop, Urban

Время звучания : 57:11

  Комментарий (рецензия) :

CD, стоящие на полке рядом : Jazz (Saxophone)      

When it came time to go Undercover for his third Verve Forecast project, the late saxman must have taken his cue from fellow multi-saxman Eric Marienthal and realized that the ticket to a perfectly balanced collection is utilizing the relentless production funk of labelmate/keyboardist Jeff Lorber only half the time. Lorber's trademark bounce drives the party side of Porter's personality to explosive heights, taking the saxman from a staid middle ground into a challenging, dizzying but feasible realm. But as we saw on the previous album, Straight to the Point, too much Lorber doesn't allow Porter to fully embrace his silky, romantic side. Ronnie Foster knows just what it takes to enhance the late night smooth, however, and here he keeps the grooves cool enough to let Porter's thoughtful improvisations take over. The disc jumps from tempo to tempo, somewhat indiscriminately - just as you're boogying to the Lorber edge, the slow dances of Foster begin. And then back again and again. Fortunately, Porter's tough, well mannered tone keeps a note of consistency and fluid energy throughout, making this a playful, if all too slickly produced affair. On hand to join the two sides of midnight are soul blessed guitarists Norman Brown and Paul Jackson Jr.

- Jonathan Widran (All Music Guide)

  Соисполнители :

Alec Milstein (Bass, Vocals)
Bridgette Bryant (Vocals)
Howard Buzzy Feiten (Guitar)
Jeff Lorber (Synthesizer, Drums, Piano)
Jimmy Johnson (Bass)
John Robinson (Drums)
Marlon McClain (Guitar)
Marva King (Keyboards, Vocals)
Maxayn Lewis (Vocals)
Nate Phillips (Bass)
Nathaniel Phillips (Bass)
Norman Brown (Guitar)
Paul Jackson Jr. (Guitar)
Paul Pesco (Guitar)
Paulinho Da Costa (Percussion)
Ronnie Foster (Bass, Piano, Drums)
Will Downing (Vocals)

№ п/п

Наименование трека



   1 After Hours         0:04:54 Porter
   2 There's Only You         0:05:09 -"-
   3 Undercover         0:05:32 -"-
   4 Forever Yours         0:05:45 -"-
   5 Phases Of The Heart         0:05:52 -"-
   6 Send One Your Love         0:04:37 Wonder
   7 October Rain         0:05:01 Porter
   8 Lost Logic         0:04:48 -"-
   9 Before We Say Goodbye         0:04:43 Downing / Porter
   10 Almost There         0:06:19 Porter
   11 Last Call         0:04:30 -"-


 T   'щелкнуть' - переход к тексту композиции.

вернуться        закрыть окно

Последние изменения в документе сделаны 20/10/2016 22:03:58

Главная страница коллекции

Collection main page